Jeez – seriously!

It’s been nearly a year since I last posted!

My laptop came back from the Apple hospital but it continued to have issues and now I’m really pleased to announce that the manservant has a new laptop on order and I will be getting his hand-me-down soon!  Maybe even before Christmas.

So, how has my 2015 been …

***  January:  My office moved into the “country” – an economic decision based on rent costs. It means my commute went from 3 miles to interminable!   It also means snow photos without any nearby buildings:

 

***  February:  More snow … still loving the colour we chose for our house – plum with green trim:Feb snow

But, while it was snowing in Washington DC my son, Econo-boy, and his girlfriend were holidaying in Fiji and getting engaged!

 

*** March  – it was still snowing!   

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

*** April –  Econo-boy & Ms AM had an engagement party  –

Feb Nelson_Aleks_207

Yes it was in Australia and yes I missed it; the manservant and I were swanning around ….  First in Guernsey, Channel Islands:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then Sark – a lovely island with no cars and a cat cleaning itself on an isolated clifftop!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then in Bristol, England:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then St. Albans in England

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We were back in DC in time for the 100th anniversary of the ANZAC landings at Gallipoli (World War 1)  and we went to the dawn service on 25th April held at the Korean War Memorial: April

*** May  – my brother & his wife came to visit!!   The first sibling to come to Washington DC.  Actually the only sibling to visit America!   And he got me to my first ever baseball game (which only confirmed what I already knew –  I really do not like baseball).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*** June –   apparently nothing of note happened.  

*** July – a super exciting month as it celebrates my birth.  We had a long weekend in (or is it “on”) Chincoteague and Assateague Islands.  Chincoteague is home to Misty of Chincoteague. We did not see any of the wild ponies – they were standing in a shady copse while we humans stood on the viewing platform in the blazing 95 degree sun. We climbed halfway up the lighthouse before I started feeling sick (it’s those open grille steps & landings that do me in). The Island’s annual fair was on.  We bought a Smith Island cake on the way home – yum!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*** August – we got a new train car on our metro line. If you rode in some of our crappy rail cars you would understand how this could be a highlight of the month…. August new metro

*** September –  the Princess & Nick got engaged!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*** October –  the manservant & I went to Australia where lots was going on.   The Princess had an engagement dinner where we got to meet Nick’s family,  and we farewelled Econo-boy and Ms AM as they moved to London:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The little grand-baby turned 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And I had lovely quality time with the little guy:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I got to hang out with my 3 favorite young men: October boys

With my mother:

October visiting mum

And with my father –  well, his memorial seat – and the lovely view of the Myall River from that seat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With sister Jane, aka Cat,  (I don’t know what’s going on with my t-shirt – I think it got caught up on the handle of mum’s walker) –

October w m & J

And with friends (I have more friends but not more photos).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We went by ferry up the Parramatta River into the city

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We got back to DC in time for the 20th anniversary of the first exoplanet discoveries and went to some cool events like one at the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*** November – was full of  train commutes, DC traffic jams, autumn colours in Rock Creek Park, cupcakes and our alley cat Gingermutt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And that’s my year so far!

 

…..

32 responses

  1. Welcome back, Emjay!

    Happy to know that you have been in good health and leading a life full of things to tell us as usual.

    Looking forward to hearing more from you after you get THAT laptop.

  2. Happy to see you back! It sounds like you had a terrific year, with lots of travel (no wonder you didn’t have time to blog) and great family news. I suppose you’re shopping for a mother-of-the-bride/groom frock now (or have the kids not set dates yet?).

    (Just a note of caution: when you do start shopping, don’t put it off until two weeks before the wedding, and don’t shop online. I discovered the hard way that it’s worth devoting a whole day or weekend just to shop and try on dresses at one’s local stores.)

    Hope to see more of you in 2016 with even more good news. 🙂

    • I remember your hunt for a wedding outfit when your daughter got married. Did you buy something from J Jill ?

      When the Locksmith got married I bought a few dresses online and chose the one I liked best – I did give myself plenty of time though and even had the option of a last minute “at-the-shops” buy in Sydney the week before the wedding. The dress got its second wear at my company Holiday Party last night – the manservant doesn’t understand why I don’t want to wear it to the next 2 weddings! LOL.

      • I did buy a dress online from J.Jill, and discovered the armholes were too big for my skinny arms, lol. It was too late to return it, however, so I got out a bright orange shawl and draped it around my shoulders and upper arms to hide the offending parts. This worked perfectly, since all of the women at the ceremony, including my daughters, were wearing saris.

        I left the dress at my father’s house when I moved out, sad to say—there was only so much stuff I could carry in my car. Maybe it’s still there, but I’m not optimistic.

        Men don’t understand that a dress is not like a suit: you can’t get away with wearing the same dress to a big event the way you might with a basic black suit. People will know! My male friends tell me that no one really cares, but I do. One should never let one’s standards slide!

  3. Wow! I thought you’d forgotten your password, lol.

    Great that you got to “meet” your grandson, your soon-to-be daughter-in-law & son-in-law … and anybody else that I missed. Too bad your son’s move to England couldn’t coincide with your trip there.

    I will pretend I didn’t see your remark about baseball …

  4. You had a very eventful year. You and I were sort of zigzagging across the globe in different directions this year. We were in Perth for my youngest daughter’s PhD graduation early in September, then I was in London for 5 weeks for my first granddaughter’s birth after that.

  5. Emjay, if I could live in DC with you and the manservant, I think I could live in DC. You make it look so inviting and exciting and full of fine things for a high spirit to embrace!

    Congratulations on the embiggened family and giving me a chance to see you AND your sister all at once!!! ❤

  6. Gosh 😮 I take my eyes off your blog for a minute and you sneak back! Serve myself right for disabling notifications. I’m so glad you commented on my blog today, so I would think to call by again. So many gorgeous photos! I love the snowy one with a person carrying something red – didn’t quite look like an umbrella – with the rest of the scene mainly snowy overhead branches, that one’s awesomer than the rest.

    Love the dragon on Sark, and the way you captured the land plunging into the sea. Mr R has an ancestor who took up residency in Guernsey before 1841 – one Samuel Lock, a tailor. He had a large family, so he must have relatives there still.

    And so many lovely family and friend reunions, cakes, pussy cats, trains, snow and, to top it off, a glimpse of your plum house with green trims. You live in one of those colourful rows, lovely.

    So glad to have you back, Emjay. No pressure, mind! ❤

Leave a Reply

