Chile via Panama City

~

I apologize for being so slack in not thanking people for their best wishes on news of my first grandchild.   I was super busy at work and then trying to plan a trip at the same time.  I cashed in the manservant’s frequent flyer miles to accompany him to Chile – except I didn’t actually accompany him.  I flew Copa Airlines via Panama City and landed in Santiago just after midnight on Sunday while he flew American via Miami and arrived at the more civilized mid-morning.

This is as close as I got to “seeing” Panama City.   I had a couple of hours exploring the airport between connections. IMG_1579

The Palacio de la Moneda in Santiago.   The architect was Italian Joaquin Toesca and the palace was built between 1784-1805 as the royal mint.  It became the Presidential residence in 1848 until 1958 when it became the seat of government.  It was bombed during the military coup of 1973 and rebuilt in 1981.   IMG_6152

~IMG_6142

We’ve packed heaps into the 2 days we’ve been here and have a couple more days in Santiago before heading south to the Colchaqua Valley and then to Valparaiso.   Then I’ll head back home and the manservant will go north to the telescope.  This is my first trip to Chile and I’m sorry it can not be for longer;  there is so much to see!

.

14 responses

  1. I envision the Manservant having thousands and thousands of miles on his frequent flyer membership. Lucky for you!

    Did you get to visit Pablo Neruda’s house, La Chascona, in Santiago? I know you don’t have a lot of time, but it’s a literary shrine to fans of the poet. 🙂

    • I’m very lucky when it comes to the frequent flyer miles – they’ve been flying me around for 13 years now.

      We did not see Pablo Neruda’s Santiago house but we did see his Valparaiso home which was really, really amazing! No photos were allowed inside the house but I have some of the outside. We planned to see his house in Isla Negra too but ran out of time.

  2. I have been to Chile once many years ago to be at a friends wedding (she had been a foreign exchange student when we were in high school and we kept in touch) I did not get to do any site seeing because I was there to be there for her wedding, I was alone and I did not speak enough Spanish to be on my own. But I did see Santiago, Vina Del Mar, and Valpariso, on the go, while running around doing last minute wedding stuff. And her wedding was in a very beautiful old Catholic church.

    I hope you have a great time.

    • Hi CC – it’s wonderful to hear from you! I do not speak Spanish but found the Chileans to be wonderfully patient while I mimed and gesticulated (and giggled). There are some gorgeous Catholic Churches in Santiago and Valparaiso. We only saw the beach in Vina Del Mar.

Leave a Reply

