Food List Challenge

`

I got this from Leeenda….      I’m pretty willing to try  most things, I even tried Stinky Tofu when we were in China but I did not attempt the street food that resembled rat tails (the manservant did and he survived but I think his stomach is cast iron).    The things I’m least likely to try are sweet things that come in packets, I’m not a big cake, cookie or candy eater except for Chocolate – and then I’m sort of fussy about the chocolate I eat.

Bold what you’ve tried:

1.  Abalone:  When I was young we’d go to the beach for summer holidays.   My much older cousin would dive for abalone & spear-fish off the rocks of Dee Why beach and he’d bring back hessian bags of abalone.  I don’t remember how they were prepared and I don’t remember if I liked them.

2.  Absinthe:    I don’t think so.

3.  Alligator:   No,  but I’ve had crocodile – does that count?    I didn’t like it at all.    I was on a first “date” with someone after my divorce and we’d gone to a  fancy restaurant.    I thought the crocodile was so awful I had to swap it for his meal which I think was a steak that he’d been really looking forward to.

4.  Baba Ghanoush –  *love* it!   but then I like all those sorts of Middle Eastern dippy things.

5.  Bagel & Lox  –    Yes, on my first trip to New York (first trip to US)  in 1999  –  I think I tried everything that I’d ever read about or seen in a movie.

6.  Baklava –  absolutely- it’s so deliciously bad for you.  A Turkish guy at work makes it and shares it.

7.  Barbeque Ribs  –  yes,  but I don’t really like them –  too rich and too messy.

8.  Bellini –  yes,  I’ve tried a lot of cocktails  – I’ve been legal drinking age for a very long time.

9.  Bird’s Nest Soup  –  no,  despite eating some weird unidentified foods in China I don’t think I’ve had Bird’s Nest Soup.

10.  Biscuits & Gravy  –  as you know we Aussies call cookies  “biscuits” so the first time I saw a sign advertising Biscuits & Gravy I fell about laughing at the thought of how disgusting it must taste.    I’ve still not tried it even though  I now know that biscuits are actually like savory scones.

11.  Black Pudding – absolutely!   My father used to occasionally fry it up with bacon and eggs for breakfast.   When in Spain I got it every time I saw it on the menu (morcilla) and I’ve bought it a few times here in DC but it doesn’t taste as good as when dad cooked it.

12.  Black Truffle – nope

13.  Borscht  – yes, and I’ve made it a few times.

14.  Calamari –  yep –  it tastes the best deep fried and eaten while enjoying a nice white wine.

15.  Carp –   my grandfather used to fish for carp in the Macquarie River and mum would lightly fry fillets.   I think they’re considered a pest now (the carp; not mum & papa).

16.  Caviar  – yes but not the fancy expensive type they probably mean.

17.  Cheese Fondue –  yes my parents used to have fondue parties in the 70’s  and one birthday in the last decade I made 3 of my friends eat at a Swiss Fondue restaurant.   We felt like slugs for days!!

18.  Chicken & Waffles  –  this doesn’t sound very nice – is it similar to my mistaking biscuits & gravy?

19.  Chicken Tikka Masala – yes and I’ve made it myself.

20.  Chile Relleno  –  I don’t know what it is.

21.  Chitlins  –  yes – here in DC.   I didn’t mind them but then I like black pudding!

22.  Churros  –  yes – the first time I had them was at Disneyland.

23.  Clam Chowder  –  yes on the harbour in Baltimore.

24.  Cognac  – yes but didn’t like it much.  I was young –  perhaps I should try it again……

25.  Crab Cakes –  absolutely –  one of the “must have” things in this area –  Maryland Blue Crabs are famous.

26.  Crickets – no but I’ve tried Witchetty Grub – it was sort  flavorless.

27.  Currywurst –  sounds like it belongs to the bratwurst/liverwurst family – I’ve had a few of them.

28.  Dandelion Wine  – no

29.  Dulce De Leche  –  is there a downside to caramel.

30.  Durian –  no, and I think the smell would put me off – says she who put Stinky Tofu in her mouth!!  🙂

31.  Eel  –  my father used to buy smoked eel when we went on those summer holidays to Sydney.  It was a special treat for him as it was expensive.  I remember it being oily and salty.

32.  Eggs Benedict  – yes – it was something I had to learn to cook when I did Commercial Cookery classes.

33.  Fish Tacos  – no

34.  Foie Gras –   not the expensive fancy kind they probably  mean.

35.  Fresh Spring Rolls  – yes

36.  Fried Catfish  –  yes

37.  Fried Green Tomatoes –  made by me and they were really good – it was the first time the manservant had eaten them too.   The first year in this house we grew tomatoes and had a huge crop.  As the first frost was about to hit I picked all the green tomatoes and sought ideas on Vox for what to do with them.   I also made an “apple” pie.

38.  Fried Plantain  –   about once a year from the Sweet Mango Cafe.

39.  Frito Pie –  I don’t know what it is but it doesn’t sound good.

40.  Frogs’ Legs –  a couple of times; once in Sydney and once in Brussels.  The Belgium ones were better.

41. Fugu – I’d be scared of dying.

42.  Funnel Cake –  I’ve not been to a county or state fair yet….

43.  Gazpacho  –  yes but I’m not really a fan of cold soups.

44.   Goat – yes in curry from Jamaican jerk chicken place

45.  Goat’s milk  – yes  – relatives used to keep goats on the cliffs above a beach.  They’d milk them as one daughter was allergic to diary.   I thought the goat’s milk was disgusting  – haven’t tried it since but I love goat cheese.

46.  Goulash  –  mum used to make this about once a month for dinner.

47.  Gumbo – yes in New Orleans during a  long long-weekend.

48.  Haggis –  yes – complete with some ceremony that involved carrying the tray of haggis around the table and toasting each time the tray stopped.  I suspect we were well lubed up on alcohol by the time we actually ate it and so unable to remember the taste.

49.  Head Cheese –  does this mean the yellow stuff out of prawns/shrimps/crabs?

50.  Heirloom Tomatoes –  yes, from the Farmer’s Market – lovely sliced on sourdough bread with some basil and crushed black pepper.

51.  Honeycomb  – if you ever get to Mudgee in Australia go to Honey Haven – they have the best of honey-everything.

52.  Hostess Fruit Pie – is this one of those things you find in a packet at gas stations?   The manservant says I would starve on a road trip because I won’t eat anything like that.

53.   Huevos Rancheros  –  something the manservant gets for breakfast on occasional weekends.   I’ve had some off his plate –  I’d never be able to get through even half a plate to myself.

54.   Jerk Chicken –  from the Sweet Mango Cafe –  it’s good but I prefer their curried goat.

55.   Kangaroo  –  grew up on kangaroo tail soup which was really more like a stew.  In those days not a lot of the meat was eaten as it was thought it was infested with worms  – I guess cooking the tail for many hours got rid of them!    As an adult I’ve had kangaroo steak a number of times –  it’s very low in fat so has to be carefully cooked so it’s not overdone and tough.

56.   Key Lime Pie  –  yes.

57.   Kobe Beef  –   I don’t think so.

58.   Lassi  –   I hope that’s not a mispelt version of the dog….   I haven’t tried the drink either.

59.   Lobster – yes but I don’t think my stomach liked it very much.

60.   Mimosa –  yes, it involves alcohol…..

61.   MoonPie –  no, it’s another one of those things in packets isn’t it.

62.   Morel Mushrooms –   dried ones added to cooking.  I don’t like mushrooms much.

63.   Nettle Tea  –  yes – didn’t like it.   I always associate nettles with nasty stings on my legs.

64.   Octopus –  yes  marinated & added to a Greek salad – very  nice.

65.   Oxtail Soup  – something else I grew up on.   Something else to make me anxious to leave home!

66.   Paella  – in Barcelona – it was wonderful.   There’s now a Spanish restaurant not far from home and they make a very passable paella  –  we get it to serve on special occasions.

67.   Paneer  –  yes, I love the Indian curry which has paneer, spinach and potato cubes.

68.   Pastrami on Rye  – no,  I don’t like pastrami.

69.   Pavlova  – of course –  I’m Australian and I’ve been to many backyard barbies and social events in the community hall!

70.   Phaal  –  no but I think it’s a curry and I like curries.

71.  Philly Cheese Steak  – yes in Philadelphia  –  it was actually the manservant’s which I took a bit of.   I’d asked a local where to get the best one  – I don’t remember the name of the place now.

72.   Pho – yes  – there was a huge Pho craze here for awhile.

73.   Pineapple & Cottage Cheese  –  yes something my mother used to mix up to go with  lunch.   I think you can buy it pre-mixed now.

74.   Pistachio Ice Cream – yes  –  I’m not a big ice-cream fan though so I wasn’t really impressed.

75.   Po’Boy – yes in New Orleans the same long weekend as I had Gumbo   – and  a lot of Hurricanes (the drink).

76.   Pocky –  seen them but never tried them.  Not sure why not – they have chocolate!

77.   Polenta – have had nice ones in restaurants but my one effort at cooking it was a disaster.

78.   Prickly Pear – no

79.   Rabbit Stew – yes another of those growing up staples.    Mum used to add a lot of red wine – I always hoped I’d get drunk.

80.   Raw Oysters – yep love them.   And I’ve shucked them right there on the rocks around Myall Lakes and eaten them on the spot.

81.   Root Beer Float  –  nope – got root beer and ice cream – yuck.

82.   S’mores  –  once and I didn’t see what all the fuss was about – perhaps you have to grow up having them around campfires.

83.   Sauerkraut – oh yes, something else from my childhood.   This went with the cold left-over corned beef.    Horrible stuff.

84.  Sea Urchin  – yes from the sushi menu (uni).

85.  Shark  –  yes – also called Flake, it was the main ingredient of fish & chips in Australia.  The best fish & chips were those that came wrapped in newspaper with a few slices of lemon and vinegar over the chips.

86.   Snail –   the common garden variety no;  the gourmet variety – yes once.

87.  Snake  – yes barbecued by that same older cousin who used to dive for abalone.   It wasn’t too bad.  He made the skin into a belt for himself.

88.  Soft Shell Crab –  yes, once –  it was weird to eat the shell.

89.   Som Tam  –   I had to look at my Thai menu to see if this was the papaya salad.  I usually order by numbers.

90.   Spaetzle  –  don’t know what it is.

91.   Spam  – yes,  disgusting stuff!  My dad used to eat this –  still does – mum smuggles it into the nursing home – though I think he gets the “reduced” salt version now.

92.   Squirrel  –  no,  they look too cute to eat.

93.   Steak Tartare –  learnt to prepare it while doing the Commercial Cooking course  –  I prefer my meat cooked.

94.   Sweet Potato Fries  – seems like something I should’ve tried but nope….

95.   Sweetbreads  – yes –  I grew up on a farm – nothing much was wasted.

96.   Tom Yum  –   yummy soup.

97.   Umeboshi  –  not sure what this is.

98.   Venison – don’t think so.

99.   Wasabi Peas –  yes.  We put them out when we have guests  – we like them;   not many of our guests do. 🙂

100.   Zucchini Flowers – yes stuffed ones made by me  – back in the days when I used to cook fancy things.

 

41 responses

  1. Oh what is pavlova?

    there were some foods that are near and dear to my stomach on this list. Especially the Indian ones. But I admit, I have not had many of the cocktails. gotta work on that right?

    • @ mizunogirl – the pavlova is named after the Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova who toured Australia & New Zealand in the 1920’s. There’s always been argument as to whether it’s an Australian creation or a NZ creation…. whip up a lot of egg whites, sugar, cornflour & vinegar and cook into a large almost flat meringue-type shell. It has a crisp, crunchy shell but it’s like marshmallow in the middle. Then it’s filled with cream and fresh fruit including a lot of yummy passionfruit. My grandmother was a very good pavlova maker – there’s a trick to not letting the shell collapse.

  2. My younger daughter had chicken and waffles at the Southern-fried restaurant around the corner from her building. (It’s owned by a Chinese family, lol.) She said the chicken was good, but the waffle was meh. I read later that there are chain restaurants all over the South that serve nothing but. Since I don’t eat chicken with anything, it’s unlikely I’ll ever taste it.

    Truffles, the fungus variety, are overrated, in my opinion. I had an argument with a foodie friend about that—he said I hadn’t had “real truffles” and too many places serve only truffle oil-flavored dishes or canned truffles. Still, I’ve seen them, and they remind me of something you’d find in a pasture after a herd of cows spent a day grazing there. But that is a loooong list! You’d have to a serious gourmet to have eaten everything on there.

    • Chicken & waffle just seems a really weird combination – but then a lot of weird combinations taste pretty good like fruit cake with a slice of cheddar cheese on top. Re the truffles – I’m not really keen on eating something they use pigs to root out – now that’s weird! 🙂

  3. Boy, you’ve tried a lot!! I think I’m the typical American eater–stick with the potatoes and the steak and we’re happy. Maybe that’s only true for the West. XD I haven’t tried barely any of those! I think I need to start experimenting.

    • I’ve never really been a steak and potatoes person 🙂 I’ve never been a person to say “I won’t like it” without actually trying something – or at least smelling it. Experimenting is fun – you have heaps of time to try new things.

  4. You wouldn’t be eating anything out of the Myall at the moment. I saw on the news the other day that ulcerated fish have been showing up, a sign of a clogged unclean waterway.

  5. Woweeeee!!!
    You are brave!
    That’s an amazing list.
    I’ve had two things on it: Key lime pie and Philly Cheesesteak (yes, the real deal). That’s it, I think. Not adventurous when it comes to food. I do love Brussels sprouts, though. Does that count?

    • I think actually *liking* Brussels sprouts gives you a lot of brownie points Robbie! I’ve tried them a few times done a few different ways and struggle to eat them – although the version with bacon was almost edible 🙂

  6. Sweet Potato Fries are everywhere here now – even in the frozen food section of the supermarket. Better for you than regular fries! I prefer them. I have had Birds Nest soup – in Toowoomba of all places. Not memorable.

  7. I’m pleased that I’ve had many of the foods on this list. And pleased that I’ve not had several of them as well.

    Pocky – go now and get some. They have so many different versions now! There’s one with dark chocolate and another with almonds in the chocolate and… Yes. Go.

    Venison is wonderful! Have some! Actually, I wonder if it’s like kangaroo which I have not had. I’ll have to ask the hunting folk I know. I’m sure one of them has had both and can give me an accurate comparison.

    • LOL @ being pleased not to have tried some of the things. I don’t like nuts in my chocolate – I’m a plain chocolate type of girl. I think I’ve assumed that Pockys might be like chocolate coated pretzels and I don’t like them. I don’t remember the last time I saw venison on a menu – we tend to frequent Asian restaurants.

  8. A couple.

    In Baltimore, gravy is slathered over potato fries before eating.
    Have you tried fried green tomatoes? A late aunt of mine on the Eastern Shore of Maryland would prepare them. Thought they were disgusting until I tried them

    • I know a few people who put gravy and ketchup on their fries before eating them – doesn’t sound very appetizing to me. I made fried green tomatoes a couple of years ago – they were soooooo good!

  9. The way your described heirloom tomatoes makes me excited for summer. Lots of varieties to be bought (and easily grown) here (here being Southern Ontario, Canada)

  10. Bloody hell, that’s a long list. : )
    I have tried many of the things and like many of them too and consume regularly. Our parrot loves Wasabi peas! I only eat free range meat since 2007, so that limits many things, and I do not eat cephlaopods ever since I learned they are very intelligent, which counts out calamari. Yes, I am a pain in the arse.
    I do like absinthe. I even smuggled a bottle back my first trip here and shared it. It is lovely if you only have 1 glass. If you like a nice red wine buzz, you would enjoy it. I will not consume it unless I am in the company of people I like. It did make my fingers very tingly and my head quite fuzzy, but not in a scary-drunk or stoned way.
    LOL with biscuits and gravy (my husband is a Southern food convert and red eye gravy is one of his favourites)

  11. I was just thinking, if you and Kerstin and I get together, I will be bringing some absinthe. And it is a myth that it makes you want to shag everything in the room, by the way.

  12. You’re very adventurous! I’ve only had a few of the things on that list. I have had venison, in Minnesota; it’s ok but a bit strong flavoured for me.

    I love key lime pie or anything involving key limes really, and it goes without saying that I’ve had pavlova (and I love it).

    • I miss a really good pavlova! I went to a function at the Australian Embassy and pavlova was on the buffet – I was really looking forward to a slice but when I got it, the base wasn’t quite the right texture.

  13. I guess I should clarify that I’ve had “imitation” bird nest soup, now that I’ve read the wiki on the “real” stuff.

    i’m laughing that you had trouble with polenta. i’m guessing you were trying to do the firm/sliced kind?!? I usually make the version that’s more “gloppy” – though I can do either.

    I just tried Lassi last night. It was unflavored and tasted pretty much like what it is, a bland/bitter yoghurt kind of drink. I’d think I’d prefer it with a fruit flavor – I’ve been trying to figure out what I can add to make it more palatable.

    • Yes I did try to make the slice-able polenta variety – I must give it another go – perhaps my skills have improved. I love plain yogurt so perhaps I’d like Lassi – though as I have 2 cartons of yogurt a day I like a bit of zing in anything I drink.

  14. Honey haven sounds great. We don’t like mushrooms but many people have said black truffle salt is to die for.

    As Kimmers said, sweet potato fries are overrated. Dependining on the restaurant, sometimes they are disgusting. Don’t bother!

    • You make me smile about the sweet potato fries amelie! 🙂 Honey Haven is an amazing place – it’s not far from a telescope the manservant observes at so I often wave him off with a list of things to bring back from there.

  15. Wow – that’s some list! I’ve tried a lot of the items you’ve got listed above, but not all. Hooray for you and your pioneering spirit!

    • Margy, I’m not sure it’s “pioneering spirit”; more like lazy as I don’t like cooking much 🙂 A lot of the things I’ve tried were just what we ate in my childhood – they didn’t seem so “exotic” when served up weekly.

  16. Chiles rellenos are a Mexican dish. It’s usually a poblano stuffed with jack cheese, breaded and deep fried. Its good if you like peppers and cheese.

Leave a Reply

