A – Z Challenge …. V is for ……

~
Virgin – the word virgin comes via Old French virgine from the root form of Latin virgo –  meaning literally “maiden”  or  “virgin” a sexually intact young woman.   The first known use of virgin  in English comes from an Anglo-Saxon manuscript held at Trinity College, Cambridge c. 1200.
.
Frank Harris (Irish-born, American writer)  claimed in his autobiography “My Life and Loves”  (published 1922-1927; it is 4 volumes!) that he once gave the etymology of virgin  in a lecture thus:  ” “vir” as everyone knows is Latin for a man, while “gin” is good old English for a trap: virgin is therefore a mantrap”.
.
The definition is now relaxed to include anyone who has not had sex and, outside the sexual field, to initiates of any new activity  –  basically virgin now simply means uninitiated, unused, pristine, pure or undefiled.
.
Obviously I’m not a virgin as I’ve had 3 children and there was  definitely no immaculate conception involved!  But, it’s been a long time since I was sweet, young and virginal.
.
And that’s not to be confused with a virginal  –  a now obsolete sixteenth century instrument.  It resembled a rectangular spinet or harpsichord with strings and keys but only one wire to a note.  It was sometimes called a pair of virginals.      I wonder if anyone ever requested:  “find me a virginal virgin to tap the virginal” ….
.
Oh and apparently if you dream that you are a virgin  it symbolizes purity and potential except that if you are not a virgin it can signify past regrets and remorse and a bleak future.    It’s a good thing then that I’m a slut in my dreams!
`
.
16 responses

  1. Odd, I have not been dreaming about being or not being a virgin. Gotta ask around, I bet I can meet someone who has! But…must be discrete. Latley, I have been complaining too uch too graphically about some of our patients conditions, and I fear one nice young man will not talk to me again..His virginal ears may have been marred…ha,

    • I know someone with the name Virginia and I asked if she’d been teased at school, being called a virgin or a vagina – petty things kids in my school would’ve said if we’d had Virginia (not a popular name in Australia). They could barely get through Christmas and “Yes, Virginia there is a Santa Claus” without smutty schoolboy “humour”. I have never seen The Virginian….

  2. Interestingly (to me, anyway) this week I’m reading a book called “Good Wives, Nasty Wenches, and Anxious Patriarchs” about the state of Virginia in the 17th and 18th centuries and I was interested to learn that Virginia was so named to symbolise its virginity at the time of settlement.

  3. Ditto, I’m glad I’m usually a slut in my dreams too! Though I wonder what the significance is of dreaming you’re sleeping next to a pig, lol!

    (Yes, that really was my dream last night. When I woke up, I was glad I was really alone in bed!)

    These days however, I associate the word “virgin” with olive oil. It seems like all I really love to do nowadays is eat a good meal, preferably one cooked in or made with a good olive oil. Yum.

    • Hee!
      Well, my friends of a like age….mid 50s, and I have all decided that sex was a lot of fun …but now a good meal and a good nap…well, they can compete and often win. 😉
      Sleeping with a pig, however…no.
      Smelly smelly smelly! 🙂

      • It was a small pig, like a pot belly pet pig. I tried to push it out of bed, but it began crying like a baby! So I thought, ‘Oh, fine! But I can’t sleep here, then!’ So I went to watch TV, but there was a news story about a man attacked by a giant pig that broke the door down on his house. Then I woke up and wondered what the heck did that mean?

        I’m waiting for my son to get done adjusting the brakes on my bike. I’m sooo hungry I could eat pork! 😀

      • LOL Lauri! I have a friend in her 60’s who says she wishes she could just find a man to go to the movies, theatre and dinner with and that he’d then just drop her at the curb so she could go to bed and read. I get the impression she comes across a few men of the pig-variety in her search.

Leave a Reply

