A – Z Challenge….. N is for …

~

nuisance and  nnoyingok, maybe that one’s not quite a “real” word but ‘nnoying squirrels are driving me nuts!  Squirrels are nucivorous (really cool n-word) so why are they decimating my cherry tomato bush?

The little buggers pluck a lovely ripe cherry tomato from the bush down in the courtyard; they come up the steps, climb onto the deck railing and stare defiantly into the kitchen while dining!   .

.

After a few minutes they put their “leftovers” on the deck railing and go back down and pick another one!!  Luckily my plant is producing enough to feed both of us but it is really frustrating that they are so wasteful!   This was my crop the other day – I’m also growing cucumbers and (white) eggplants in pots as well as patio tomatoes – and of course, peppers:  

26 responses

  1. Holy cow! I just read in a gardening magazine not ten minutes ago that a lady puts ziplock type bags over her tomatoes, closing them around stems….and the squirrels leave them alone.
    I am not sure what the plastic would do to the ripening of the tomatoes, though!
    We just ate our first tomatoes on hamburgers tonight. YUM!

  2. The little buggers do the same to my passion fruit. Nibble (another N word) a hole into it, decide they don’t like the insides, and then do the same to the next.

    N is for Nom Nom Nom.

  3. They did not forget the apples and lot of seeds to eat and toys to play, you left for them on your deck ! … The joke is continuing with your cherry tomatoes … Admit that you love your squirrels ! … 🙂
    Have a nice day ! …

  4. Well, at least it’s a squirrel and not a rat, lol! My father’s veggies are being decimated by rats, who won’t even eat the whole vegetable. They take one bite and disappear, leaving the tomato or eggplant or whatever damaged and rather unappetizing.

    There are sprays you can put on the tomatoes and such to keep the squirrel from munching on yours. My brother thinks we should try fox or coyote urine on the vegetables, but that sounds so disgusting I think I’d rather sacrifice a few vegetables than spray them with fox piss!

  5. You know you can actually pick them green, wrap them in newspaper and store in a dry place–they will ripen VERY slowly. We do that with our last harvest and usually have fresh tomatoes for winter solstice/ yule.

  6. “Um, you know, these would really be better with some basil and a dash of olive oil. Here. I leave empty tom for youse. Maybe you could make yourself useful and fill it with goat cheese and herbs while I away?”

  7. how sweet this shots are…love this animal and I´m everytime happy to see this animal in a big city -in my city also….we say to this animal “Eichhörnchen” 🙂 Have a nice day…..my day is now over-I go sleeping for the next day 🙂

  8. I could offer a politically incorrect solution to the problem Emjay but the long parcel arriving at your post office might attract attention that you could do without.

    This is like cockatoos destroying all our perfectly good lemons….just to get the seeds out.

  9. I know for a fact they do not like hot peppers…maybe next year grow them together? He sure is a cute little bugger, though.

  10. I hate tomatoes, but these are such little red jewels, that perhaps a squirrlie could not help himself. Father has a problem with nectarines and squirrels – he’s been lining up the fruit they left over on the fence…they’ve been going for those instead of the fine, ripe ones.

    I can’t help but like this guy – so intent and full of bravado (and tomatoes!)

  11. Your squirrels must have neighbors in Boston, because they do the same thing here! They took all the strawberries this spring, and leave their leftover nuts and seeds on our back porch railing.

  12. LOL they do the same thing to us with the food I toss out for them – but it’s often shells they line up on our porch, not compostables! LOL! Maybe you could start a small compost bin for the leftovers? It would eventually turn into soil……

  13. Dagnabit, the peppers you gave me have formed lovely plants here this year but haven’t fruited at all yet. Harrumph!! They must like your climate more than mine. I still have one fruit left, will have to try it again in a different location.

    I use a mixture of dish soap/olive oil/water/cayenne pepper (ratio 1:2:4:1) – let it sit for a couple of days, shake well… then mix a few (3-4) tsp of it into a litre of water and spray on your tomatoes. That will fix those rotten little bastards! It’s also great for killing cabbage worms, especially if you add finely chopped garlic to the mix.

    Of course it also means you have to wash your tomatoes before eating, so it’s probably not worth it. 😦

Leave a Reply

