50 question meme

`

WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE?

No, but I was almost named “Fleur”   –  which would’ve sounded posh if our surname had been left in the original Spanish format with the fancy  “de”  prefix  but silly with what I have.

WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED?

I am a big cry baby  –  I cry multiple times a day.   If I’m at work my eyes just sort of “leak” ;  if it’s a sad Friday night movie I can get a good sob going!   

DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING?

When I write “nicely”  my writing looks sort of cool –  it’s a weird combination of printing and modern cursive and calligraphy.  People say it’s nice.  At work I write in a horrible chicken scratch style that only I can decipher.  When I had my right arm all braced up and had to learn to write with my left hand co-workers said it was the first time in 10 years they’d understood my notes.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE LUNCH MEAT?

I don’t “do”  lunch meats!     When we moved into our ‘hood and first went to our supermarket I was horrified to find a quarter of the store was dedicated to lunch meat and plastic cheese!    They’d never heard of Greek yogurt.    That’s what I eat for lunch every day – plain non-fat Greek yogurt.    I can guarantee that no-one will ever steal your lunch out of the company fridge!

DO YOU HAVE KIDS?

Yep – three wonderful kids and a daughter-in-law.  I’m also associated with another 8 nieces & nephews – fantastic products of my siblings.  Outside of that group I do not like children.   I make babies cry  – I think they must be like animals & can sense when someone doesn’t like them –  parents are of course oblivious to the thought that someone could not be enamored by their child.

IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU?

If I was another “eldest child” probably not.   Eldest children are bossy & selfish.

DO YOU USE SARCASM A LOT?

What’s “sarcasm”?

DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS?

I think so unless I suffered an alien abduction type of event.

WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP?

Only if I would die if I did not.   And, they’d have to punch me out before pushing me off.   I am a big scaredy cat!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE CEREAL?

Muesli type things that can be mixed into yogurt.

DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF?

Absolutely!   Not untying is the quickest way to ruin shoes  – my mother said so!

DO YOU THINK YOU ARE STRONG?

Yep – physically  – though the old carcass is not as tough as it used to be.     When I was about 40 I won a female benchpress competition of most repetitions of 70lbs.     I did 35 which was 5 more than second place.   I could’ve done 40 but when  you’ve won you’ve won – no use hurting yourself!

Mentally –  I must be strong to survive living this far away from my family.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE ICECREAM?

I don’t like ice-cream in the bowl or cone sense.   I like chocolate Paddle Pops, Magnums and Lemon/Lime Splice – which come on a stick and which they don’t have here  – which is probably a good thing.

WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE?

It used to be teeth until I came to the land of perfect pearlies where they are all straight and white.   Now that I do new-hire training presentations at work on the importance of first impressions I notice the overall appearance of someone starting with their posture.

RED OR PINK?

Pink  –  If I was a few years older  I would claim that Barbie was modeled on me.

WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVOURITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF?

My patience.  I have none.  I could never be a teacher.  Well, that goes without saying really as I’ve already told you I can’t stand children!

WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST?

All my family!   I have the best family of anyone I know.  There’s never been a falling out or argument amongst us.

WHAT IS THE PAUL MCKENNA TECHNIQUE THAT YOU NEED TO WORK ON THE MOST?

Like mostly everyone else I have no idea who this is and still had no idea after Irony had Googled him and shared what she’d found.

WHAT COLOUR SHOES ARE YOU WEARING?

Black shiny patent leather stilettos.   They didn’t look this high on the website. Luckily I sit at a reception desk all day and there is no pole in sight!

WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE?

Lunch –  that plain non-fat Greek yogurt.     I’m looking forward to going home and having wine and cheese though.

WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW?

Someone complaining about the USPS and their (lack of) service!

IF YOU WERE A CRAYON WHAT COLOUR WOULD YOU BE?

I’d never choose to be a crayon but if some evil doer transformed me I’d hope it would be into a purple one.

FAVOURITE SMELLS?

The smell of a dust storm just before rain.  Jerk Chicken from the Sweet Mango Café.  Onions frying on a barbecue.  Cinnamon buns coming out of the oven at the Sticky Fingers bakery.  

WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE?

The manservant telling me they’d had some sort of “catastrophic failure” of a cell they‘d developed.   I think that means I get to eat what I want for dinner.

MOUNTAIN HIDEAWAY OR BEACH HOUSE?

No beach for me  – every year I have “things”  burnt & cut off me from my formative years being spent in the sun!   A mountain hideaway in Hawaii or Tasmania would be okay – not too far from some civilization.   

FAVOURITE SPORT TO WATCH?    

I used to watch any and all types of sport –  but that was before my television had so much Baseball and Gridiron on it!   

HAIR COLOUR?

L’Oreal Golden Blonde

EYE COLOUR?

Green if you keep me fed & watered.  Grey if you piss me off.

DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS?

No, but I wear glasses for reading.

FAVOURITE FOOD?

Chocolate  – yes, it is a food.

SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS?

I like blood & gore with a story line –  so that takes most scary movies out of the running.  I don’t like happy endings because they make me cry and then it’s really embarrassing to walk out of a “happy” movie with red eyes and blotched cheeks!

LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED?

“The Fighter” on Netflix – Friday night.  

WHAT COLOUR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING?

A weird lace thing that reminds me of my grandmother’s tablecloth.

SUMMER OR WINTER?

A warm winter!   I dislike winter but I really *hate* summer –  heat, humidity & Emjay do not mix.

HUGS OR KISSES?

Neither really – though I tolerate hugs  – as long as the hugger has clean hands!

FAVOURITE DESSERT?

Chocolate

STRENGTH TRAINING OR CARDIO?

Strength.   I’m likely to trip over doing anything faster than a stroll.

COMPUTER OR TELEVISION?

Both – at the same time.  The advantage of a laptop.

WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?

I have two books on the go.   In bed:  Denise Mina’s  “The Field of Blood”       and  on the train:  James Lee Burke’s  “In the Moon of Red Ponies”.

WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?

Probably a smear of chocolate.

FAVOURITE SOUND?

Babies laughing.   Though obviously I don’t want to be too close to the baby!

ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES?

Can’t I have both.

WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME?

Whether I call Australia or DC  “home”   I’m often on the other side of the world from it.    

DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT? 

LOL –  not one I’d tell about.

WHERE WERE YOU BORN?

Middle-of-nowhere Town in Australia

WHERE ARE YOU LIVING NOW?

Capital of the free world.

WHAT COLOUR IS YOUR HOUSE?

Grey painted brick – but I’m aiming to change that.   Last weekend I got paint charts.  I don’t think the manservant and I are going to agree on a colour.   I predict it will ultimately be a colour  *I*  like.

WHAT COLOUR IS YOUR CAR?

No car.   Metro railcars are silver with big dirty windows.    I’m not sure if they’re tinted as I spend my commutes totally underground.

DO YOU LIKE ANSWERING 50 QUESTIONS?

It was okay and gives me something to post. …..

31 responses

  1. Lol, whats with our family and the hugging. Oh and I had lunch with Mum on Monday and she gave me those black shoes you sent her, lol, as if they were ever going to fit her!

    • Thank you monsoon – LOL about the hair colour. Yesterday I was having my hair cut when the girl commented on how little grey I had – when I told her it was L’Oreal she said “Oh, you fooled me; I thought it was natural” – LOL. I must’ve done a really good job at getting it right against the scalp – I’m usually a bit slap/dash because I’m in a rush.

  2. I like plain Greek yogurt with pita chips and chickpeas tossed in. That’s based roughly on a recipe for an Indian fast food snack that the in-laws introduced me to. I could gussy it up with turmeric, coriander, tamarind sauce and red pepper, but that’s only if I feel like making the motions of trying to cook, lol.

    But seriously, you don’t think you could be friends with another oldest child? I am the oldest of three kids, and I’m not so much bossy IMHO as I am “Oh for goodness sake, this isn’t hard, you know!” Oh, and I’m not patient with my siblings. With my students, my parents (because they’re old) and strangers most times. But I know my sister and brother could do better, and they won’t even try.

    • Yes I like to “gussy” up yogurt occasionally too but I tend to go towards sweet additives when I do – like raspberries or strawberries, honey or golden syrup or just a banana. Quite often my idea of cooking is cutting open a bag of salad LOL – if I’m really going all out I might fry a chicken breast to dice up over the top of the salad.

      I read somewhere once that eldest or only children should never marry another eldest or only child – too much jostling for power in the relationship. I do tend to be a “oh, for goodness sake just-get-on-with-it” sort of person. I’m sure that most of the time I consider my way to be the best (only?) way LOL.

      BTW – I have not heard the expression “gussy up” for years! My grandmother used to use it all the time referring to everything from food to fashion – as in “she was all gussied up”. Some great memories there.

      • Ha! When I say things like “gussy up,” my kids roll their eyes upwards and sigh, “OMG, she’s beginning to sound like an old lady.” In response I say to them, “But I AM an old lady! At least to you!”

        Seriously, when I mentioned I saw Ronald Reagan back when he was governor of California (I was in the sixth grade then), they exclaimed, “I didn’t know you were THAT old!”

    • We go for long neighbourhood walks and I point out houses that I think are nice colours and ask “do you like that?” and the manservant replies “if you do.” Occasionally he gets brave enough to point out one he likes and asks what I think and mostly I think it’s “yuk” ! 🙂 We’ve come close to agreeing a couple of times and I’ve photographed those for future comparison. At the rate we are going I don’t think the painting is going to happen this year!

    • Lunch stealers are the lowest… we even had someone steal a left-over half eaten Philly steak sandwich from the fridge! The girl who lost it was so annoyed – she’d wrapped it in foil so the thief didn’t know what he was getting – I wonder if he still ate it when he saw bite marks already in it!

      I’m so pleased the peppers grew! 🙂 I dried a lot of them in the sun and we ate them through winter. I haven’t planted this year’s crop yet – a couple more weeks and I’ll get to it.

  3. At work I write in a horrible chicken scratch style that only I can decipher. – LOL – you must have been a doctor in your last life!
    Lunch meat, yeah. Not.
    In my wildest dreams I can not lift 70 lbs. Damn, woman. I want you with me next time I go to New York.

  4. So the bungee jump thing made me laugh. It reminded me of my dad. He said “Why would I pay to do something that would have the same effect in my pants as a box of ex-lax?” He’s normally not very crude, so this was his way of saying ‘only if death was the other option’. You’re in good company.

Leave a Reply

