Photo Project Complete… & … Happy New Year!

~

On New Year’s Eve 2009 I decided I would do a photo project;  a photo a day for 365 days.  I would start on  January 1st and finish 365 days later on December 31st 2010.    How simple – I wouldn’t have to do any mathematical calculations to figure out where I was.    Except ….   I forgot to take my very first photo!  LOL.

So … my project started on January 2nd and now, in the interests of full disclosure,  I will explain how it still came to be finished today.   A trip to Australia and that funky little thing called the International Dateline is the reason.

When I flew to Australia I knew I would be losing a day on the way so I took a photo of the horizon as we hurtled over the Pacific Ocean.    On my last day in Australia I took a photo and on my first day back in America I took a photo  –  they just happened to have the same date!     As I had experienced  both days I considered them to be separate shots in my project.

So without further ado –  the final set!

Photo  358  –  this was Christmas Eve in DC; but Christmas morning in Australia so I opened a couple of presents.    These are books 8, 9, 10 & 11 in the Robicheaux series.

359   Christmas Day  –  our tree is so small that I can stand over the top of it.  Most of the year it lives in darkness under our spare bed.

360   –  this is our Hawaiian Santa on Boxing Day.  The weather outside was frightful but he played on as if he were on the islands of Aloha: 

361:  –  Off to work I went the day after the forecasted “big storm” non-event.   These are roads fully treated with salt and chemicals, waiting for snow that did not arrive:   Obviously I’m the only person who went to work on Monday!

362 –   A baked Acorn Squash for dinner  – actually it lasted a couple of dinners and a lunch:   The filling is onion, mushroom, cilantro and chives.  

363:  How do you stop people coming in the door?    You leave off the steps!     There is a front porch on the left with steps  –  hopefully there is a door there……      

364:  A young man knocked on the door and said that he was selling items to raise money to go to a workshop on how to stay away from drugs!    I bought a couple of candles for $4 though I couldn’t help being a little skeptical…  

365:   New Year’s Eve morning walk …  I wanted to find a bottle shop with champagne in the window  –  it was not to be but I will leave you with the two windows I found. 

A New Year can be rung in with whatever you fancy.   So ring it in with gusto!    Happy New Year everyone  – I hope 2011 is a good year for you.

.


48 responses

  1. Happy New Year, Emjay! I have enjoyed your posts and pictures all throughout the year! I love seeing what you see as you walk your neighborhood or on your way to work.
    Here’s to another great year to come!

  2. I like the unique perspective on the tree shot. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a picture of a Christmas tree taken from above. I also like the deserted intersection.

    So are you going to do the same project in 2011 or do you have something else planned?

    • It helps that the Christmas tree is only 4 feet tall and I’m 5’8″ … I’ve seen a couple of other photo projects around like “the alphabet” – a different letter for each photo and a scavenger hunt one like the old Vox hunt. Maybe I should up my reading challenge to 75 books and take fewer photos – I have just over 7 hours and a bottle to decide.

  3. I love liquor store displays at Christmastime because they manage to capture the spirit of the holidays but also can be wildly inappropriate. The bottle shop near my parents’ house has a life-sized cardboard cutout of a buxom young woman in a teeny tiny Santa outfit, seductively holding up a glass of Scotch. I’ve watched parents with small children quickly duck past the window, hoping they don’t have to answer any questions about “Mrs. Santa.” But she’s so cheery-looking, how can anyone not want to celebrate after looking at her?

    Have a Happy New Year, Emjay! Looking forward to many more lovely pictures here.

    • LOL! My bottle shops are terribly boring in comparison to yours. I think the ones closest to me don’t bother as their largest clientele are alcoholics – we walked past ours and the windows were basically bare except for a gridiron helmet and a couple of football related props – I seriously doubt my bottle shop has champagne anyway. 🙂 The next one has bars crisscrossing the window and just neon signs for a few brands of beer. We had to walk more than a mile to find these fancy windows! 🙂

      Wishing you & your family a really good 2011 HG – I’m looking forward to following along as you continue your online photo course.

    • Thank you MT – it’s been fun to do but if I do it again I might do something like “shots of the week” and not put pressure on myself to take a photo every day. A few times I had to jump out of bed and take a shot I’d forgotten! LOL.

  4. Ha! I too forgot the first day of the 365, that is why mine is ending with tomorrows picture. It was a lot of fun, and I wanted to quit so many times, but I feel I learned SO much from it. That empty intersection shot is quiet and lovely, I like the tire marks in the ice. YAY! Congrats on the end of the 365!
    Do you want a photography challenge for 2011? I am going to try out the 100 strangers project, where you take portraits of 100 strangers and ask them a couple of questions. Definitely a challenge for me. 🙂 Happy New Year!!!

    • Thank you Lavender – I had tremendous lens envy when it came to your shots! 🙂 I think I might have become sick of the project if I’d put time into lighting and composition (hence I didn’t learn a lot about photography) but I really enjoyed whipping out my camera for random impulse shots and then sharing them online.

      That sounds a challenging but great project. I’m not sure I’d be confident enough to approach people and ask to take their photo – I don’t think it would be well received in the area I live. Happy New Year to you and Mr. Lavender – and best wishes with the project – I look forward to following your progress.

    • Thank you Emmy. It was really strange to be going to work in such solitude! No people on the footpaths; no cars on the streets! I wondered if perhaps my office was playing a joke on me! 🙂 Santa is so grateful to be let out of the cupboard for a couple of weeks that he doesn’t mind sitting on that draughty windowsill! Happy New Year to you and J and the kitties.

    • Thank you GW – it certainly felt like people might’ve been playing a trick on me that Monday after Christmas! It’s really unusual to not have any traffic or people in that block to the metro!

  5. Simply brilliant, “363: How do you stop people coming in the door? You leave off the steps! There is a front porch on the left with steps – hopefully there is a door there…… ” or one could post a sign that visitors are not allowed due to what ever seems convincing.

    • My gap between taking the photos and posting them got wider and wider – I’m surprised that I got them all online on time in the end 🙂 Congratulations on completing the project also – I really enjoyed all the dog photos -they were always so expressive.

  6. Re 361….even if it didn’t snow you’ve certainly captured the bleakness and the cold…I’m shivering just looking at it.
    Congratulations on having completed your big project Emjay, and I look forward to more pictures this year.

  7. Happy new year Emjay…I´m a little bit late, but I was in UK but you know it 🙂 I love the last shots of you photo project. 360: ha ha ha about dhe discription/ words in front of the shot…362: I´ve never seen or taste a Acorn Squash-sounds and shot looks yummy. 363: is funny and I hope also there is a door 🙂 Thank you for this project Emjay! 2010 was a good year and I hope 2011 will be superlative 😉

    • Happy New Year Kerstin – I just know that you had a terrific time seeing in the New Year with Bettina and Masha. Our Hawaiian santa makes us believe that we are having a warm Christmas! LOL – perhaps like a Christmas in Thailand! Superlative is a fantastic word – I hope we all have a superlative 2011.

Leave a Reply

