Happy Thanksgiving

~

Since living in America I’ve been asked many questions about Australia from those about animals –  “do kangaroos hop in the streets of the Sydney” …  to the funniest – “do you use the same alphabet?”  to probably the stupidest  “do you have the same moon?”

But after 10 years it still surprises me that every year someone asks me “what do you do for Thanksgiving in Australia”.

Aussies like a big celebration but Thanksgiving is not a part of Australia’s history.

But, that’s not to say that an Australian living in America does not enjoy the feast and spare a few moments to be thankful for what she has.

Happy Thanksgiving to all those who celebrate it.

.

28 responses

  1. People can ask some stupid questions. The idea of any Kangaroos hopping down a street in Sydney cracks me up!!!!
    Many countries do have a day of Thanksgiving for various reasons. A more intelligent question would be to ask if there is a similar holiday in Australia and what it relates to historywise….but of course many of us assume that everywhere else mirrors the US…. and I am thankful that that is not the case…though I do love living her ein Florida. Have a Happy Turkey Dinner!

  2. LOL that would be SO awesome if Australia had its own moon!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Emjay. I suppose we don’t celebrate it in the traditional sense (besides indulging in the meal) but having the time off means family can get together.

    Actually here’s a question that hopefully does not sound stupid – do Australians have holidays that are unique to the country that are especially meaningful to you all? Just popped into my head as I was typing this!

  3. Yup, I got asked that twice this week. *shakes head*
    The most ridiculous question I was ever asked was by a boss at one of my jobs here – she asked me if I went back to Australia, did I always fly, or did I ever drive all that way? 😐

  4. To be honest, I have ALMOST asked that question before: but then I realized that it wasn’t a holiday like Halloween–which can easily be universal–but a great American tradition. 🙂

    • LOL@ we like the moon – but not as much as cheese or zeppelins – that was really funny. I’m always behind in my subscription reading – I mosey along days later and find I’ve missed 4 or 5 posts.

  5. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe you were actually asked that. Maybe you should have made something up. You would have thought that Australia was on another planet by those questions. A girl I used to know once visited a tribe in Africa and they asked her the same moon question. However, it seems to make more sense that they would ask it being that they live in such a rural area. Too funny.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, too. Did you celebrate?

Leave a Reply

