Photo-of-the-day shots: Days 264 – 269

~

I drove a lot of miles in these 6 days!!     These were taken in September when I was home in Australia.

264a  – When I go home one of the things on my must-have list is fish and chips – and I must have it near water.    This is across the road from the Myall River – the cafe had the cute name;  Hook & Cook …..

264b   And you can’t have fish and  chips near the water without seagulls: ( I guess seagulls look the same all over the world). 

265a  & 265b…   I had a day out in Sydney with my friend Alan and we parked in the ridiculously expensive carpark of Sydney Hospital.    I don’t think I’ve ever been on the grounds before – they have historical tours of the site but we ran out of time that day –  I’m going to put that on my list of things to do on a future trip.   Sydney Hospital & Sydney Eye Hospital is Australia’s oldest hospital.  Three gorgeous sandstone buildings and two gate houses were built on Macquarie Street after an architectural competition held in 1880 – though Sydney Hospital has been on this site since 1811 when it was called Sydney Infirmary.  The Eye Hospital joined the site in 1996.

265b

266a  The Zig Zag Railway is a heritage railway at Lithgow in New South Wales – it was known as the Lithgow Zig Zag and operated between 1896 and 1910.   It was part of the Main West line from Sydney across the Blue Mountain.  Now the Zig Zag railway carries steam and diesel hauled trains for tourists.   It was not running the day I stopped there but that didn’t stop me wandering around a bit.  In 2003 the railway was used in the Hollywood film Stealth.   I bet they used a better train than this:

266b  This is the  Zig Zag Clarence Station.   During World War II, the Clarence, and Zig Zag tunnels were used to store chemical weapons such as mustard gas and phosgene  for the Royal Australian Air Force.  They were disposed of after the war.

267:   A small country town between Coonabarabran (where the telescope is) and the Hunter Valley.  In 2006 it had a massive population of  495 people!  Binnaway is an Aboriginal name meaning Peppermint Tree.   The White Rose Orchestra was  formed in 1936 and the town is still very proud of it.

268  Somewhere in the Hunter Valley where I’d stopped to take some photos of the open cut mines…. 

269a  We stayed overnight in a Hunter Valley town.  We had really good coffee at this place which had a nice courtyard – and fresh scones with jam & cream!

269b  Pub in the same town.

36 responses

  1. So typically Australian small town, Emjay. Makes me feel quite nostalgic. I’d like a dollar for every “Criterion Hotel” in this country. 😉

    • I just realised how many kilometres I drove in these 6 days – I should’ve spent more time in the pub! I think we missed out Snowy, my hometown had 4 pubs but no Criterion.. we had the ubiquitous “Royal”, the (town name) hotel, the “Court House” (across the road from the Court House) and the “Imperial”. We also had a golf club, a bowling club, an RSL and a flying club (Gliding) – population less than 1,500 back then. Is it any wonder I’m borderline alcoholic LOL.

  2. Your tour gives me a picture in my mind of what an Australian town must look like. The hospital is amazing. I have never heard of one that is so nice and old that people tour it!

    Looks like you travelled a long way and did many fun things. I bet you wish you could sleep for a week now!

    • The hospital has lovely historic buildings – it’s nice that it is still in use rather than having been replaced by “modern” facilities. My photos of the day shots are still catching up – these were taken in September when I was home in Australia – I’d still like to sleep for a week though 🙂

    • Thank you Kim – I’ve driven past the turn-off to the Zig Zag railway for many years and never stopped. I will have to add going there when the trains are actually running to a list of “to-dos” next trip home.

    • It would be interesting to see the other entries in that 1880 architectural competition. The architect who won, Thomas Rowe, has a wide range of buildings still standing in Sydney from a Presbyterian Church, a Synagogue, a College, to an Arcade and some warehouses.

  3. Love pictures of old railway equipment. So much detail. And the fish an chips! we do not have good fish and chips here by any means. Soggy, greasy and nasty. I actually stopped off and got some frozen fish and chips to bake up in the oven this weekend. I really need to get a nice little deep fryer, that would be great.

    • Many years ago I picked a relative up from this hospital and I’d forgotten how lovely it was. Thank you re the photos and descriptions – I’ve really enjoyed doing this photo a day project – no promises that I will do a second year though 🙂

  4. A half-decent fish and chips place opened up near my parents’ house: it’s run by a Vietnamese family who moved here from Canada, where they learned how to make the stuff British-style. But I knew it was as close to the real thing as you’re going to get in Cali when I saw the malt vinegar shakers on the counter. Yum!

    It struck me as I looked at your photos that it’s spring down there in Australia while it’s edging into winter up here. I shouldn’t wonder you’re homesick.

    • LOL @ “malt vinegar shakers on the counter” . I was happy to find a fish shop close to home – called “Fish in the Hood” (:-)) – they make great crab cakes but I was disappointed in their fish and chips – also, when I asked for fish & “chips” they looked very blankly at me! Fish & “Fries” just doesn’t have the same ring.

    • The old ornamental metal work is gorgeous – I’m glad that they have not felt the need to “modernize” the buildings. Australia does not have a lot of old buildings like Europe does (we’re just youngsters).

  5. I know that this blog is a LOT of work. But I appreciate it immensely. Where else can I go for a personal, guided tour of places the whole way around the world?? ( I think your Aussi seagull’s bill and legs are much more red in color, than the seagulls along the U.S. Eastern Coast.)
    Thank You for sharing it all…..Denise 😉

  6. The old people on the first shot are very cute…the Sydney hospital shot is very impressing and the 265b is also impressing-I like this kind of building…and the train shot with the graffity is cool and a Kerstin shot:-)

  7. Loved reading about your trip, Emjay! It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful time! The Sydney Hospital has such a sense of history, and is so beautiful. It’s the most important architecture structure, since Sydney Hospital has the honor of being Australia’s first Hospital. Amazing!
    Thanks for the tour.

    • Thank you GOF. It was a bit eerie being there actually as I was the only person wandering about. I wanted to walk along the track a bit but I was a scaredy-cat ! If the manservant had been with me I’m sure we would have explored further – perhaps even finding those tunnels.

Leave a Reply

