Pour me another few…..

~

I’m going to be drinking heavily for the next two weeks so excuse me if I don’t always make sense.

The Princess flies off to Thailand today for a holiday with her boyfriend.  Just the two of them.  Alone.  In a foreign land…..

I’ve urged her to stay away from water sports of all kinds, para-sailing, street food, dancing with King cobras, tap water, alcohol, drugs and sex…..

Perhaps she will find a nice temple where she can sit back with Buddha and contemplate life and all those deep meaningful things.

But, given she is only 21,  I doubt that will happen!

 

55 responses

  1. Oh dear, I can only imagine the worry. Young folks are resilient though, and being in a foreign land I bet they will be more cautious than if they were in a totally familiar place. I flew alone to England when I was 17, of course not the same thing but still, my young mind knew to think a bit more than usual. Hopefully she’ll stay in touch, right? At least there’s cell phones and email!

    • Yeah Emmy, we parents never give up on the worrying! 🙂 She’s been flying between Australia and the United States since she was 11 years old so she’s pretty old-hand at that but this will be the first time that she is free of the restraints and constraints of family …. She can finally do what *she* wants to do LOL.

  2. Aaaaugh. I’m totally with you in spirit, Emjay! I try not to worry, but what parent can NOT worry?
    She will be fine, but I know you will be tense for a couple of weeks. I’ll have some wine for you!

  3. I’m sure she’ll be fine! The weather is fantastic now, so she’s coming at a great time.

    If she has any major problem (it’s really not likely, though), you can email me and I’ll see what I can do to help.

  4. Goodness you kids are going to make you into a lush! I hope your daughter has fun and stays safe. My parents still “baby” me at times! Although part of that is also being an only child. 😛

    • Sometimes I think I would’ve liked to have been an only child – but then I’m sure that being one of 4 allowed me to get away with a few things that weren’t noticed while parental attention was elsewhere! LOL.

  5. Oh DEAR. That’s what’s forced me to make trips to the hairdresser every two months to cover up my gray hairs.

    But it’s good for them to travel when they’re young. (That’s what I tell myself, over and over again.) Then they get it out of their systems. But maybe an offering to the Buddha to keep your daughter safe would help? I think all you need is a bowl of fruit and a little incense. 😉

    • LOL – perhaps I should start stocking up on the L’Oreal honey blonde. Yes, I think it’s really valuable for a kid’s development to get out and explore beyond their homelands. I went to London alone when the IRA was still fairly active with bomb threats etc – I was 19 years old. It never occurred to me that my parents would be really worried! I went home via Hong Kong and ran out of money there – I just assumed things would work out and they did – now I wonder if perhaps my parents might have wondered if they were ever going to see me again. LOL. An offering to the Buddha seems like a good idea.

      • I did quite a bit of travelling before I had kids: England, Scotland, Channel Islands, large portion of Asia – At that time I was way more interested in travelling than “settling down”. In the last 10 years I’ve been lucky to do a lot more travelling…… I don’t think you’re ever too old to travel. (LOL – ask me that when I full of arthritis and incontinent! ).

    • I started travelling young too and just blithely wandered around never worrying about anything and everything always turned out just fine. It’s only as we get older that we start thinking about all the “what could’ve happeneds” and for some reason project those onto our kids – who are actually very capable kids because we’ve made sure they are LOL. Parenthood is funny! 🙂

  6. How wonderful! Where in Thailand will she go?

    BTW – tell her to hang an amulet with Buddha’s image on her boyfriend’s neck. In Thailand, it is a sign that he is taken. (I found this out the funny way…)

  7. It’s hard being mum to a girl, isn’t it?

    If it’s any consolation, I was roughly her age when i travelled in the far east, and had a wonderful time. After Africa, it seemed so safe too.

    Sit back and enjoy her email updates 🙂

  8. I hope she will check in with you a few times while there. That will hopefully put your mind at ease a bit. Of course a nice bottle of pinot grigio may help too! 😉 Seriously though, I’m sure she’ll be fine.

    • A bottle of pinot grigio helps with anything doesn’t it 🙂 The princess sent a FaceBook message to her brother that she’d arrived safely. (I don’t do FB) – hopefully I will get an occasional email – though as long as she is checking in with her brothers I will be happy.

  9. Sometimes I get stressed out about the kid and wish he would just stay in one place and not do anything that would risk anything so I can sleep at night. But then I’d feel guilty and it would keep me up instead of all the worry.

    When I would go off to random places on random trips, my mother would tell me not to come home pregnant or married. I think she was serious…

    Drinking’s a great solution. 😉 Cheers….

    • I have a friend with 5 sons around the same ages as my kids. She gave me some really good advice when hers were all getting their drivers’ licenses…. “go to bed and sleep, because if something *does* go wrong you don’t want to be too tired to deal with it”…. LOL – yes, I think your mother was serious; my father used to say “don’t get pregnant or VD” .. 🙂

  10. Well, you never know! Just make sure she has someone to call if any bizarre temptations strike. I’m sure you’ll be able to talk some sense into her!

  11. Pingback: My binge is over | Aussieemjay's Blog

Leave a Reply

