Fields of yellow…

~

OK – enough chilling.   I’ve now collected the manservant from the top of the mountain and put him on a plane back to work in DC.  For the remaining few days of my annual holiday I’ve moved back in with my son, daughter-in-law and snakes….  and slightly better internet.

On the drive out to Coonabarabran there were occasional paddocks of gorgeous yellow that, from a distance,  looked like a paddock full of wattle ….  though it wasn’t …..

 

This is wattle (a common name for trees & shrubs in the genus Acacia) along the side of a country road:

 

The paddocks were flowering rapeseed (Canola oil).   Soon your chips might be bubbling in oil from here: 

Rapeseed has been grown commercially in Australia since 1969 when farmers sought to reduce their dependence on cereal crops.  The industry was decimated by blackleg (a fungal disease) early on and scientists set about developing disease resistant varieties.  In the 1990’s Rapeseed became more commonly referred to as canola and became a major crop in southern Australia.  Now we harvest about 2 million tonnes of canola a year – most of it is exported.

24 responses

  1. We have loads of rapeseed over here in the UK too – on the increase in fact. It seems to cause a lot of allergy problems though with hay fever. We also have pretty blue fields of flax (linseed)

  2. It always makes us smile now that so many people are anti GM foods when in fact we have all been eating it for hundreds of years. One example is contained in your post : developing disease resistant varieties. Genetic modification! What is to be worried about?

  3. I like the fresh yellow and the nice shots….and LOL about: put him in a plane back:-) Hope all is good for you there and you have lots of fun-I´m with you:-)

  4. I love seeing the wattle in bloom!

    I think if we ever changed the Australian flag (which I’m not in favour of) we should have a green and gold one.

  5. Ditto silverchimes: I love yellow flowers and I love your photos, but that time of year when wattle blooms is usually when I spend most of the day sneezing and honking my nose with a box of tissues at my side.

  6. That is an amazing sight, seeing all of the yellow in the distance. I am familiar with canola oil. That is what I use.

    I hope you enjoy your final days on vacation.

  7. Regardless of my bias against canola as a foodstuff and its implications with macular degeneration, fields of it look quite spectacular……and I miss the wattles…..very few of them grow in the tropics.

  8. Good choice on the name change,lol. I am imagining hearing rapeseed oil on TV commercials. Very pretty. Mustard growing looks similar from a distance. I also like the wattle. It looks like honey locust here in the states. But they grow sparcely and are specimens here. Perhaps they are wattle and I just never heard them called that. I hope your trip has been a right stunner. Nothing going on over here. If you stay we can all visit.

  9. sounds and looks like your having a wonderful time getting to catch up on everyones what are they up too even the snakes soon you will want one as a pet!
    keep taken the photos it is nice to know there is life after VOX

  10. As with “leendadll” — rapeseed = canola! Huh. To think we regularly use canola oil in our cooking and I thought it was distinctly different from rapeseed. Perhaps the name change put the product in a more positive light. The vast expanses of yellow look to me like fields here overgrown with wild-growing Goldenrod. As a kid I seem to recall my dad blaming my severe hay fever on the goldenrods. It turns out, the pretty yellow blooms are taking the blame for pollen allergies most often sparked by ragweed. May your last days of holiday be excellent and your travels back to the States be ever so smooth! — JG

Leave a Reply

