Visiting Rose Bay

~

Thursday the manservant went off to the Observatory offices to work and I went out to play.

I visited a really long-time friend in Rose Bay.  Alan and I worked together more than 30 years ago (for a period of about 10 years) and we still maintain a daily email routine even though we are on opposite sides of the world.  He is now retired and his diary was busier than mine when we were trying to organise a get-together.

Rose Bay was named around 1788 after the Right Honourable George Rose who was joint Secretary to the British Treasury. It is about 7 kms (4 miles)  east of the City of Sydney.

So, that means more water photos (don’t worry eventually we will be heading out into the countryside!):

`

And, as I’m always posting photos of houses from where I live, I thought I’d show you some typical Aussie homes:
LOL – those are not really “typical”  –  they are all over the street from the waters of Rose Bay – all that glass must give wonderful views..
My friend, Alan lives in here – he does not have a water view:

He is however, an exceptional cook and had whipped up an asparagus frittata and green salad for lunch followed by  divine cheese blintzes for sweets.

I had to have a lie down before I met up with the manservant and a visiting Astronomer for dinner at an Indian restaurant:……

This was a specially ordered Tarkari  – it was really delicious.  Health restrictions here restrict the use of silver leaf as garnish:

This is Sabza  (vegetables) – it was also really good:

It was a good day to be wearing an elastic-waisted skirt!!!

33 responses

  1. Yum, I love Indian food. That sabza looks good enough to die for!

    But one can never get enough water photos, especially when they are taken in balmy parts of the world. Just remember, winter is a few months away up here in the Northern Hemisphere!

    (Don’t use that as an excuse to stay in Australia, however….)

    • LOL – yes I intend to savor every bit of warmth I can here – sort of deposit it in the core of my bones. I’m off to another beach today.

      I also love Indian food and this is a really good Indian restaurant that I used to go to when I lived in Sydney. I haven’t found as good a place in DC.

  2. Water pictures are always good…as are house pictures! All of your photos make me feel like I am visiting where you are!

    I love Indian food, too!
    I need to locate a decent Indian restaurant near me!

    • I’m glad I’m making people as though they are travelling with me – there were too many of you to put in my suitcase LOL.

      I know that I’m going to be glancing at my beach photos to warm up when DC is in the middle of winter!

  3. Hi Aussie May! I’m so envious of your trip! It looks like you are having a wonderful time and every where you have taken pictures so far is gorgeous! Keep shooting (just not while you are driving for heaven’s sake)!

  4. I keep revisiting your blog to figure out how it is this appears at the end of your and others’ posts:

    This entry was posted on September 8, 2010 at 10:44 am and is filed under Uncategorized . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

    I wonder whether it’s integral to templates. So would you do me a favor. Go to my site and click on any post (that’s the important part, don’t read it on the homepage). Does that above block of text (This entry was posted ….) appear at the end of the post? Thanks a bunch.

  5. Did you have lie down before you met the manservant and colleague for dinner because you were so full from lunch?? How very special to see your good friend again.

    The Indian food looks so yummy!!!

    • Oooh – that was mean of me posting photos of yummy food when you are being so good! (sorry!). I really need to go around the suburbs and take photos of the houses that ordinary folk live in – though their landscape is not so pretty.

    • I have some really wonderful old friends here and we are very good at keeping in touch. I spend my month home being feted for morning teas, lunches and dinners. I always go home about 10 pounds heavier! (and then spend a year getting it off just in time for my next visit home!).

  6. Thanks for taking us along on your latest travels and adventures! It really looks beautiful “down there” and that Indian food looked wonderful … it’s just about dinner time for me right now. — JG

Leave a Reply

