July input towards the 50 in 52 weeks book challenge

1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest  by Stieg Larsson –

very good – wrapped up any previously unanswered questions one might have had during the first two books.  I think each book was better than the last in this trilogy. (we recenctly watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on netflix – if you are going to watch it,  read the book first.  You won't know you have gaps but you do as there are things in the book not in the movie which I think are fairly integral.

*********************************************************************************

2.   Blood Spilt

  -  2nd book by Asa Larrson which starts where the 1st one (Sun Storm) left off with character Rebecka Martinsson.  Rebecka finds herself caught up in another murder mystery involving religion.  There is a sort of sub-story involving a wolf which I didn't feel added anything to the story.  This was a good fast metro train read.   

**************************************************************************************

3.  The Secret Speech by Tom Robb Smith.  

This is the second book in a trilogy featuring Leo Demidov an MGB Officer in the first book, Child 44, but now a homicide detective.  This book is about paranoia and the instability of Soviet Union in 1956…. The "secret speech" referred to is the speech made by Khrushchev in February 1956 in which he attacked the crimes committed by Stalin and associates. There's a lot going on in this book.  It was a fast paced book  but more concentration was required than my usual metro books -  a lot of names and locations to remember and a lot of distractions on the train!    I'd read that Smith hadn't intended to write a trilogy – he was somewhat surprised that the first book was so successful.   I'm looking forward to the third one being published.

******************************************************************          *           *           *           *

4.  The Black Path -  3rd book by Asa Larrson 

– continuing on with the development of Rebecka Martinson who has now become a part-time prosecutor as she continues to recover from injury & trauma she suffered in the first & second books.  This was really hard to put down!   

********************************************************************************

5.  Jack Wakes Up – a novel  by Seth Harwood  

  I'm not sure how this book got onto my to-read list. Going by the reviews on Amazon (of a total 84 – 68 gave it 5 stars and 6 gave it 4 stars), I think I got a different book to those reviewers.  It started off ok but then the writing got pretty dreadful and I felt no connection to any of the characters. I got bored; I cheated; I went to the last chapter to see if anyone survived.   I'm not interested at all in seeing what Jack does next.

********************************************************************************************

6.  Fresh Kills  by Bill Loehfelm.   Fresh Kills refers to the Fresh Kills Landfill on Staten Island.  I'm not sure whether I liked this book or not but I certainly got emotionally involved in it (think many tissues) and it gave me a lot to think about.  The theme of the book is domestic violence and the reach it still has on the main characters even after the execution-style murder of their father.  

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses

  1. So how far along are you towards 50? you seem to be trucking right along. I'm lucky if I can get 2 books read a month, but I would read a little more if I rode public transportation, that's really what got me reading again after high school when I worked in the city, I had a bus ride and then a subway ride.But I'd have to be laid up for a while to read 50 in a year, I'm a slow reader anyway. (is there such a thing as adult-onset ADD? or internet-induced ADD? if not there will be)

  2. I love reading your reviews of books. 50 books in 52 weeks is a lot of reading. I often see things in your reviews that I would like to read. I wish I could afford to buy the books. I read the pages it lets you read on Amazon about The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest and it looked like it would be really good. I hadn't heard of any of the others.

  3. I think I must be the only person in the world who didn't love The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Maybe it was the journalist character, who I thought was too smug, or I'm just not that into corporate intrigue and white-collar crime; but I ended up leaving the book at my younger daughter's place when I was just a third through the novel, and didn't regret it very much. I'll take it up again when I get the book back, but maybe in the meantime I'll try reading your other suggestions. I need some good page-turners now.

  4. Commenting on the smells post here – in winter, my nose runs from the time I leave the house till I get to my indoor destination, which can be up to a half hour. I have learned to breath through my mouth and then my nose will not run as much and also to keep tissues in my pocket or handbag. Weee! (not)

  5. I think I've read 38 or 39 – so I should make the 50. Riding the metro is definitely an advantage. I don't usually read in the mornings (I doze) but I have an enforced 50+ minutes in the evenings. LOL – I think the internet probably is producing a lot of short attention spans as we zip around between things. My daughter considers FaceBook to be reading!!

  6. Do you have a library near you? Our library is being renovated – though it's taking forever to finish and I just found out that the expected re-opening is not until Spring 2011 – The manservant's office has a huge bookshelf where people take books they don't want and anyone can take them – I've got quite a few that way – and then send them back when I'm finished.

  7. LOL – no, sister Cat did not like the books either. I started the first one a couple of times as I found it hard to get into – the next two were better and I think the 2nd one was the best of the 3 (though it wouldn't make sense I don't think to read it on it's own).

  8. My first winter here I thought I was the only one whose nose ran copiously. I've learnt to use one of those scarves that has velvet bits through them (I can't think what this fabric is called) – I wrap it around my nose and mouth and breath through it – no more runny nose (or at least none that people can see LOL). I love cookbooks – though I don't actually cook anything from them! When you say "woman novels' do you mean books by women or about women? – what were the two you bought?

Leave a Reply

