April Books

Wow – what a slack reading month I had.  Only 3 books.  But it was 1,376 pages …..   that's about 45 pages a day – some days I didn't read at all.   

Still,  I'm going to have to up the ante if I'm going to achieve the 50 book challenge.  (the reading of 50 books in 52 weeks)  

The first two books were by Lisa Jackson – these were easy reading – though both of them were way longer than they should've been.  

                                                                                                           Deep Freeze (480 pages): 

  One by one, women are kidnapped by a serial killer who attempts to mould them into the likeness of his favourite actress – think mannequins – and his ultimate victim is going to be the actress.  There is a side line romance which lacked sizzle and didn't really add anything to the story. 

Fatal Burn (512 pages): features 2 of the secondary characters from Deep Freeze.  A teenage girl is kidnapped and her father goes in search of her and comes across some old unsolved murders which are linked to the kidnapping.   Lots of dread and drama of the melodramatic type and repetitive descriptions.  There were also superfluous characters thrown in -  perhaps they are going to appear in later books (though I don't think I will read any more of her books).

The third book was The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai (384 pages):   I got this book in Australia and it has this cover which is different to the cover here in the US: 

  This is a brilliant book but it is one of those books, where from the very beginning, you think that nothing good is going to happen for the characters.   It is set in the 1980's in India where the Himalayan states Bhutan, Sikkim, Nepal and Tibet meet.  The historical backdrop is the Nepalese movement for an independent state.

It is full of guilt, regret and humility amongst the chaos of the time. The main characters have been stunted by their encounters with the West and the book is full of despair as the characters struggle with their cultural identity. 

The book is full of great narratives and powerful prose and is tempered by humour.  It's one of those books you find yourself thinking about afterwards – wondering about the characters and how they might have had different lives if one small thing had been different.    One of the paragraphs that gave me thought:     

This was how history moved, the slow build, the quick burn, and in an incoherence, the leaping both backward and forward, swallowing the young into old hate.  The space between life and death, in the end, too small to measure.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 responses

  1. That's a lot of pages for only three books. Maybe you should read some short books this month to get your numbers on track for 50. I do that sometimes. I've also been known to add a children's book into the mix to help pad my stats!

  2. The Desai book looks great! Thank you for the review. I don't mind morose stories so long as it's well written and good quality. And interesting. Cheers and kudos for taking in such cool literature.

  3. The Inheritance of Loss was one of my favorite reads of 2007, after reading her first novel Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard I thought for sure she would write something else and was pleasantly surprised.She writes with a clear, strong voice reminiscent of her mothers moving books.

  4. to help pad my stats! Yeah, I imagine getting to November and suddenly developing an interest in pictorials. I was going to start Every Man Dies Alone, which I bought after reading your review, but it is over 500 pages so I will do some shorter ones this month and keep it for June.

  5. Thanks for the recommendations – I put Cutting for Stone on a wish list today. Not sure I would like Wolf Hall…. (from the description on Amazon).

  6. I hope you enjoy Every Man Dies Alone. That was a book I had a lot of trouble putting down. Most of the stuff I read is forgotten in a week or two, but that book has really stuck with me.

Leave a Reply

