The manservant hits 50 …..

~

The manservant has hit the half century.  Celebrations started on Friday night when one of his old friends from California arrived.  Then on Saturday his brother and 4 children arrived from New Jersey and, later, local friends joined us for a small party.  (Ten adults; 3 teenage boys; 2 little girls and one little boy can make a lot of noise!).

The manservant ran out to get his own birthday banquet from his favourite Chinese place which does not deliver to us.  The Great Wall Szechuan House is a hole-in-the-wall type of place which has a great Ma-La selection on their menu (super spicy).  Their tofu is especially good.  (photos are from earlier in the year)

I was so busy making sure everything was warm enough and getting it onto the table that I  forgot to take photos of the food! 

We started with champagne cocktails  – Pour 1 part vodka;  1 part Pama (pomegranate liqueur) into a flute and top with champagne.  

 
The birthday cake was an array of Petit Fours in various flavours served with a selection of ice-creams:


The younger kids really enjoyed passing out the gifts which included alcohol


and a cool tee shirt:

 


One couple had some chocolate custom made & decorated.  (Keck telescope in Hawaii – when the manservant observes on Keck he does so remotely using computers in an operations room in the town of Waimea).

  We have unwrapped it but not taken a bite yet:   (the image of the telescopes on the computer "screen" is on edible rice paper

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

36 responses

  1. He must be a very special guy to have so many people come celebrate with him. That T-shirt is a hoot. He better get busy on that chocolate before you can't wait to start some star gazing!!

  2. It sounds like a wonderful 50th birthday with many loved ones!! Very special. The chocolate looks delicious!! I hope he is going to share with you πŸ™‚ Your pictures a great…..except poor manservant's head got cut off. Other than that, they are top notch πŸ™‚

  3. LOL @ he'd better start on the chocolate… when our friend was asking about the telescopes he goes to and mentioned doing something with chocolate I said "if they have white chocolate it might be an idea to get that otherwise I will steal his present" LOL..

  4. except poor manservant's head got cut off. LOL – It's really weird – whenever the camera gets near myself or the manservant our heads disappear!! πŸ™‚ It was a really nice group of relatives and friends – lots of fun (and lots of mess to clean up today!).

  5. Happy 50th To Him, good friends and family what more can a man ask for? well besides a chocolate confection and a Petit Four cake, which is so clever I am going to have to try that one.Best Wishes to both of you.

  6. (Only a little late), Best Wishes & Happy Birthday to the manservant! I know he has to be a wonderful guy because he married You.
    You know, I have this small, sharp paring knife that could reallly put a *hurtin* on that mouse….Yum! Oh, and the petite fours would disappear on a regular *one per hour basis* if I were around. LOL
    I wrote down the recipe for the champagne, I'm going to try that.

  7. I was so happy with the Petit Fours – there's always a risk to buying something online without recommendation. The chocolate gift idea was so imaginative.

  8. would disappear on a regular *one per hour basis* if I were around. LOL Oh Denise – you are a woman after my own heart! LOL. He still has not eaten any of his chocolate – I think I might have to get that knife of yours!! πŸ™‚

  9. have a party every week for a year. LOL – that sounds more like the sort of thing I would want to do. I love my birthday! πŸ™‚ (don't worry I'll remind you!).

Leave a Reply

