Metro Misery ..

~

There are some things that I think should be done in the privacy of one's bathroom:

Brushing of dandruff- ridden hair,
Clipping of nails,
Flossing of teeth.

It's just nasty to do those on the train people!! 

******

And, oh goody -  hope it's one of my stations (not):

News Alert: Metro plans anti-terrorism exercise Tuesday
06:40 PM EST Monday, February 1, 2010

Metro Transit Police will hold a "major anti-terrorism show of force" Tuesday during the morning rush hour at one of the agency's "busiest Metrorail stations." The agency won't release the location until Tuesday morning.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

32 responses

  1. Eew, people seem to just use the public world as their personal bathroom. Which is why I never go into public restrooms, those are ten times as nasty. I think the concept of inhibition has been erased from our society.

  2. I really don't understand why it's so disgusting, but over time I've come to realise that it really disgusts some people if I even paint my fingernails in public, so I don't do it anymore. I think that's just respectful. But there was a time in my life when I didn't realise how disgusting people found my act of running my fingers through my hair to remove snarls when I was on a train, for example. Ah well, I won't do it again now. Now I even go to the bathroom at work to add a little spray on deodorant to the outside of my clothes. I don't get it, but I do try to respect it at least.

  3. Painting nails and putting make-up on doesn't worry me – I just think the other things are unhygienic because of the various "bits" flying around. LOL – if the deodorant's going on the outside of clothing I'd probably do that at my desk. In other words it's not things going on that bother me; it's things coming off.

  4. Oh, gross!!! Especially flossing teeth. You have to stick your hands in your mouth to do that. I can't imagine putting my fingers in my mouth after having touched doors and other things in public. Really gross.

  5. from the stories my brother tells of traveling the go train in the mornings it is an extension of the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen……. with many pictures painted that I would not want to witness but that is what happens people start to view the world around them as it is just for me! I feel sorry for you at times and then some times you must see things that you never thought you would have in you life before!

  6. I've long lamented the decline and/or lack of manners and self-absorption in America and your train rides only illustrate why. I wish I could be more optimistic and assure you that one day you'll be able to ride the train with a minimum of decorum exercised by our fellow man but that would be a damn lie. On the very important upside, be grateful you have a job that requires a commute (however stomach-turning it may be).

  7. Gag a maggot! Flossing, dandruff, nail clippings! Ugh. I feel you, though. I used to ride the bus to work on Wednesdays. The smells…the sights…the sounds. Now I carpool! Wahoo…

  8. I'm always seeing women putting on their makeup on public transport, and I once watched a girl work through a whole series of what looked like yoga exercises on a bus. Fascinating! These two things are gross, luckily.

  9. LOL And I am already getting upset if I see a person having their feet on the seat. Or if a mum allows her child to stand in the seat, especially if the outside is as wet as it is right now. But what you described is even more gross. Haven't seen that yet – thank goodness!

  10. Metro Transit Police will hold a "major anti-terrorism show of force"
    Tuesday during the morning rush hour at one of the agency's "busiest
    Metrorail stations." The agency won't release the location until
    Tuesday morning.They are looking for three-year-olds throwing toys …

  11. Haa! I have several strategies, all which have served me well (avoiding the bathrooms that is, there are other pitfalls to the plan obviously).
    1. Dehydrate. I often don't drink a single drop of anything when we're travelling (yes I hate wet toilet seats that much).
    2. Know where the restaruants or stores are with private / one person per time (non-stalls) bathrooms are (these are usually cleaner – Baby Gap is one of them, Starbucks is another)
    3. Pull over and pee in the woods. So cool. I love nature.

  12. you have to stick your hands in your mouth to do that. I can't imagine putting my fingers in my mouth after having touched doors and other things in public. Really gross. I hadn't thought of it from that angle (only from the point of view of gross bits flying around the person) but you are right – I'm very careful not to touch my face until I've washed my hands when I get to work or home. The "exercise" did not affect me at all – all that worry for nothing LOL. I have been on a train though where there was a policeman or two standing at each rail car as we pulled into the station. They described it as a "police situation" – that's when they are trying to arrest someone on the train.

  13. Those of us who wanted to get off at the station had to wait until the police were stationed at the doors before they would open them. It was a little surreal actually.

  14. I hope you are enjoying this next round of snow! There was a girl doing yoga poses near one of the doors one morning and everyone was frowning at her. It takes a special kind of person to do that infront of an audience.

  15. I was thinking of you and the newspapers on your train the other day when I got into a car that was littered with discarded newspapers and other junk. People are incredibly lazy and slobbish.

  16. You really do have a strategy! πŸ™‚ I would never sit on the seat so I have perfected the art of hovering. Department stores are ok – like Macy's, Nordstrom etc – you don't have to buy anything. I feel guilty going into Starbucks just to use their toilet because I would never buy anything there.

Leave a Reply

