Appearances…

~

This morning a little boy, about 6 years old, very well dressed and with a miniature back pack, got on the train with his mother and baby sister.   He sat down and clasped his hands neatly together and began curiously looking at people around him.

I watched his little eyes as he examined:-

The guy with a du-rag and hoodie who looked as though crime might be on his schedule today.

The woman in a micro mini which she might have looked good wearing 30 years ago. 

The young lady with barely enough material to stretch across her ample bosom.

The young guy with incredible, intricate tattoos extending down to his fingernails.  

The woman wearing flip flops even though it was barely 40 degrees and raining!

 Each person was subjected to a full scope with wide eyes.   As  I watched him I wondered what he was thinking.  As children are less judgmental than adults, he probably saw very different people to those I was seeing. 

 

 

.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

34 responses

  1. you never know what he was thinking but most likely soaking in the world around him the fun part would have been to have asked him to describe his trip and what did he see! Love the building now there would be a great place to live!

  2. Gah, I'm all for tattoos and freedom to wear flip flops – but if most people dressed G rated I wouldn't complain. I do think little kids are free of that judgement, though!

  3. Yesterday I was waiting for a bus along with a few older people plus a younger man with his little boy who was about 3. One of the older ladies was chatting with the little boy. After a while, he said to her "Who are you?" I wondered if he thought she was someone he should know.

  4. You have brought me back to my old memories as a child of seeing the world of grown-ups. Getting back to those days, I judged and categorized people instinctively by their appearances into good or bad. And it is amazing that my instinct as a child turned out to be almost right after many years!

  5. My favorite movie line…
    Spoon boy: Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead… only try to realize the truth. Neo: What truth? Spoon boy: There is no spoon. Neo: There is no spoon? Spoon boy: Then you'll see, that it is not the spoon that bends, it is only yourself.

  6. What a really nice idea to give some thought to how children (and us, quite a few years ago) view the world. Perhaps it is a pity that we lose a lot of that innocence of vision as we grow older.

  7. When my kids were little and we'd been out I used to ask them what they liked best about the outing – they quite often described "funny" people they'd seen. The middle of the house would make an ideal dark room.

  8. LOL – that's wonderful! I've always been a little against parents making their children hug/kiss people they barely know – I wonder how many times they say "who are these people you are making me touch"?

  9. One of my favourite things to do on the trains is to watch people watching other people. Once I spent about an hour waiting in Union Station and I watched what looked like con men identifying "marks" amongst the tourists! It was fascinating.

Leave a Reply

