What priorities?

~

This time last year I was in a cast and on crutches.  The metro was not an issue for me because I was catching a taxi to work each day and getting a ride home with a fellow worker who was going out of his way to do it.

After 4.5 months on those damn crutches I eventually got out of the cast and then did 3 months with a walking stick. During that 3 months I spent 3 weeks in Italy and London with my walking stick and was really pleasantly surprised by the courtesy that was extended to me in tourist places where people assisted every step of the way, and on the trains where I never once stood – not even on the London Tube!

Then I arrived back in DC and was back to the cruel reality of how our system works…….   

Very few people ever stood up and most days people would almost knock me over in their effort to get in the train door before me!   Replace this man with me from December through February. 

I don't think the people their campaign is aimed at are reading the billboards…….  


Photo taken a couple of weeks ago when I first noticed the sign.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

26 responses

  1. Unreal. How rude can people be? At least it's nice to hear there are places in the world where people are behaving like responsible adults. Agh! Add this to my list of reasons why I'm considering a move to the U.K. or Canada.
    But I must admit, when I ride the subway I don't bother to notice if there are elderly people or otherwise injured people, just pregnant women. It's a good heads up in case I've been guilty of this as well.

  2. It's sad that transit systems even need to post such signs. People might be willing to move if asked, but it is disappointing that the sight of a cane doesn't at least prompt those who are able to offer their seat.

  3. From what I've observed in Bangkok, commuters are very considerate to the elderly, small children, disabled and Buddhist monks. All the buses and trains have a couple of seats set aside, but, usually, people give up their seats when needed. I didn't use public transportation when I lived in the US, but I think it's a little distressing that the situation is bad enough to require a law!

  4. Unbelievable! Are these people so out of touch with their surroundings, or do they just not care! Maybe the transit system needs to allocate so many seats with a handicap sticker. By the way, I don't like the word "handicap"…I think "special needs" is a much better term.
    Regarding your traveling…you sure have been to a lot of wonderful places! 🙂

  5. I don't think the people their campaign is aimed at are reading the billboards… so too true, so too true. These people who don't offer seats or show common courtesy are out of my league; I truly cannot attempt or fathom an explanation. I'm super observant and quick to give a seat on public transportation and the person needn't even be handicapped; an elderly person, someone carrying bags or even just a fatigued expression is enough to catalyze me to my feet to offer a seat and I won't take no for an answer!

  6. I would always offer my seat to the disabled or elderly. I once got told off by a woman on the Met for not offering my seat to her child who must have been at least 8. She got short shrift I can tell you.

  7. I am from a generation where we were raised to give up our public transport seats for the disabled or elderly, as well as several other courtesies which are now regarded as quaint. Out of habit I still will hold a shop door open so that a female or older person may enter and commonly receive a scowl or unappreciative grunt in return. I am not likely to change my habits of a lifetime.

  8. I try really hard to be aware of people around me – I'm always shocked at the number of pregnant women I see standing while young guys sit down. I do hate giving up a seat when I'm into a good part of my book though – I have not mastered reading while standing like some people do.

  9. I once saw an older woman berate two young guys sitting in one of the seats – they then argued amongst themselves as to which of them should stand up!! It was terrible really.

  10. little distressing that the situation is bad enough to require a law!I wonder if it is enforced… I've never seen a metro official walk through checking and I can only imagine the reception you'd get if you reported it to a station manager.

  11. It is amazing how "blind" people can be to others around them. Near each door of the train there are two seats with a sticker above them but you are right maybe the sticker needs to make up the whole base of the seat so that you just can't miss it.

  12. Yeah common courtesy seems to be a thing of the past. It is sad that we require posters telling us what the right thing to do is when decency should be innate. Now my trains are so packed in the evenings, its rare that I get a seat to give up!

  13. Oh – yeah, no way would I give up my seat to an able bodied 8+ year old. If the parent is so concerned they can hold the child. Most kids I've seen want to hang off the poles and swing around! I barely got in the door of the trains in London before people were standing up for me – I was really impressed.

  14. I like how clean it is also…. actually they are really strict on not eating or drinking on the trains – it even features in some of their loudspeaker announcements. Pity they don't remind us not to be rude too!

  15. Yes – it is almost evil….. that's how I felt when people would almost knock me over to get into the train before me. I felt like hitting their ankles with the walking stick! (but that would be evil!). 🙂

  16. I read someones comment about moving to the UK or Canada and I will say many places you would be treated good while there are times people even here still follow the "F#@K Everyone love themselves" attitude but you really notice it in big cities where they are rushing to get nowhere fast. and it sounds like that is there attitude in the good old USA but I always laugh when they have to legislate comment scents and good behavior it never works, making many more belligerent

  17. It is a sad indication of how things have changed :-(I lived and worked in London for 12 years, and commuted on trains and tubes all that time, even when heavily pregnant… I still had to ask for a seat.Perhaps they just can't read? No, I'm being charitable there; I don't think it even occurs to them that they ought to respect others and give the less able a seat. I shall continue to lead by example.

Leave a Reply

