Saturday weirdness…

~

The manservant went out to get a few things this morning while I planted some seeds in our little back yard.

When he came back he asked :  who mowed our lawn?   

Me:   No one mowed our lawn.

Him:  Yes, someone did.  (Note:  he did not once assume that I might have done it).

I went out the front to look and yes, indeed, someone has mown our lawn!

*****

Here is our little backyard taken from our top deck.    All those pots contain peppers and herbs!  The funky little white thing is a planter stand (I think),  but I prefer to think of it as a little seat for gnomes! 


Steps from the bottom deck down into the courtyard. I quite often imagine myself lying on those pavers – not because I think that would be nice, but because I have fallen down those steps! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

36 responses

  1. be careful on those stairs E! My Mom fell down our back stairs when I was in High School – she broke her ankle. Take your time – i fall easily as well – i have a terribly unsteady gate. i think it's because i was carried by soilders in something like this, but with pillows and such in a former life. so walking is rather new to me ; ) love the garden.

  2. I can see where you could picture yourself laying on the tiles from a fall on those stairs! Be careful going up and down. Love the way the little courtyard is arranged – looks so alive and colorful.

  3. ouch you can say I have fallen but can not get up! Not a good place to take a fall but looks like a good little garden area!And of course it always has to be someone else but you who would have mowed the lawn, show me a couple and I will show you the same frame of mind! Take good care on the stairs not what you want to go tumbling down!

  4. Thank you Gina – especially when it is wet, I look like a little old lady going down the steps! The manservant nailed down a couple of boards that were loose today. I've added a couple more pots since the photo was taken – I have one with seeds of spring onions and one with seeds for raddish – they are bright lime green!

  5. LOL – I would love to have a gnome take the rubbish out too! I hope the gnome pulls some weeds out of the garden in his spare time. I have the same problem with the weather here – hot & humid in summer and cold in winter. Bulbs seem to do well and so do my roses. I think we just have to get used to having a lot of bare dirt in winter!!

  6. It's still a mystery. The funny thing is that I heard a mower/whipper snipper when I was out the back and didn't give it a second thought as I assumed it was someone nearby – we have an old fashioned push mower. Perhaps someone was offended by the length of our grass – though it was not high or untidy (in our opinion!).

  7. It's a lovely little courtyard – it gets the sun all day, year round, though in winter that sun doesn't hold any warmth. On the w/ends I have my morning coffee on the deck looking at all those pots!

  8. My puny little collectoin of garden pots is put to shame by your impressive collection. I am clearly going to have to work harder…
    The lawn was probably mowed by some OCD neighbour with a bee in in their bonnet about neighbourhood lawn lengths. I know these people exist because I am actually married to one. Seriously, he mows other people's lawns. Sometimes he's a bit of a nutter.

  9. LOL – does he really!! I can imagine doing that for one of our elderly neighbours but we are still pretty able-bodied. Our grass wasn't that long! The manservant was going to do it on the Sunday – this saved him a job.

  10. Mmmmm – let's look at my neighbours… one side is the elderly lady and the other is a bible carrying (literally) young lady waits for her fiance to come over and do all her yardwork on the w/ends. My money is still on the gnomes.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

