Solar Danger…..

~
Looks like sunburn country to me! 


The manservant has been in Chile this week – playing astro-dweeb.   He sent me this photo which he took on one of his afternoon walks on the mountain.   I have not been to Chile but look forward to a trip in the next few years.   Who could resist such an enticing landscape?

When I was a teenager, my friends and I, used to slather ourselves in baby oil and roast in the sun. This was especially funny as we were hundreds & hundreds of miles from a beach!

But, the cost of this folly can be felt for many years after the fun is over.  I had the first "sunspot"  burnt off my nose when I was in my late 20's. When I was 30 I had a "nasty"  cut out from the hairline on my temple and then a couple of years after that, another cut out of my scalp. Last year I had one cut out on my chest – it looked just like a pimple  – the scar is much bigger! 

For many years now I have been vigilant in stripping off for a dermatological yearly check and I have always come away with nitrogen burns on my face, shoulders and arms  – one trip a couple of years ago I had 17  "spots" burnt off my face!  (I had a seat all to myself on the metro for a week after that!).   

A couple of weeks ago I had this year's check and for the first time in all those years,  I left the doctor's without a single thing needing to be burnt or cut!!   

Summer is coming to America and I will be slip, slop, slapping!!      

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

41 responses

  1. It might be easier to move to SoCal, or Florida, and be dark spotted like everyone else.I have spots but none that have needed removal.btw: We didn't even use baby oil – just straight baking in the sun AT the beach. I once missed my bus, ended up in the sun for hours longer than planned and had 2nd/3rd degree burns over most of my body. My "sympathetic" mother refused to take me to a doctor.

  2. He loves to be at the telescopes but hates the flying! It's pretty tough on the body – there is no "recovery" time between the flights and starting work.

  3. My brother was once told he should move to Tasmania and stay indoors. We have colouring more suited to Scandinavia.I got badly burnt on the back of my knees when I was about 20 – I couldn't sit down! (the flesh was so badly burnt I couldn't bend my knees!). Idiotically, I had missed putting sunscreen there.

  4. Not much slip slop slapping went on back then did it – dad is paying dearly now as well. He had to have one cut from his lip a couple of weeks ago and the cut goes right through his lip – just under the nose, stitched both sides.

  5. In that same incident I mentioned, I burned the back of my knees. When I tried to walk, having the skin touch caused me to pass out. I did it twice before I figured out what was going on – and that the rest of me was also severely burned – so I carefully crawled back to bed.

  6. Even with the lack of sun spots it is too easy to bake in the sun but I have been wind burned! but it is funny how some people you see with the leathery skin, and how it used to be considered a healthy look to be baked brown! Now from slathering on cooking oil now you slather on sun screen oh our foolishness of youth!

  7. I too am paying the price for spending hours getting a tan in my teens and twenties – every year when I have my skin checked I have to have a few suspicious spots removed.

  8. I used to bake when I was a kid too. I have been very lucky in that I don't appear to have developed any skin cancers, but I know have to use lighteners to soften the look of the freckles and brown spots.

  9. haha to Raymond's comment. Maybe you could move to the Pacific Northwest, where there's no danger of sun-related disorders because there's no sun! — unless you count the sum total of 45 minutes of sunshine annually. Thus we have your opposite problem, We all resemble Pete Doherty, without the heroin tracks, most of us anyway, and tanning booths are popular here, not for the tanned look but for the health and to combat SAD (seasonal affective disorder).

  10. ((skinhugs))Ugh re the oil+sizzling sunshine combo. I'm amazed sometimes at how stooooopid it all was. But people know better now and I still see people going without protection. And sizzling in the sun. *sigh*Wow…Chile! I don't know if a skull is the most enticing thing they could put there, but maybe it's a cautionary item…like this could be you if you aren't careful in this desert?

  11. Now, Emjay, I didn't say anything about mud, of course, now that you've mentioned it…do you do the slip slap slop jingle during mud wrestling workouts? You know I'm joking right? Say, that place in the photo…is that the ESO Very Large Telescope at Cerro Paranal, in the Chilean Atacama desert? Yeah, I googled it, well, if its right…but if its wrong, I guess I just goofed it. And yeah, the terrain up that high doesn't look inviting. And there's no mud… have a good weekend my friend 🙂

  12. Timely and appropriate warning Emjay. Just wondering if there is a public education program in the US comparable to the huge advertising efforts the Govt always makes in Australia to prevent skin cancer. And I am happy you left a little space on the manservants memory card….very interesting (and I assume very high altitude?) landscape.

  13. Twenty or thirty year ago we did not know that a too long exposure to the sun rays was dangerous, futhermore for the kids or young adults. Now the information about the risk is well communicated. The sun is life and pleasure it is only a question of measure. Have a nice sunny day

  14. The bones hardly make it inviting I must say!
    I remember doing the baby oil thing too – and lemon in our hair in the hope it would lighten – rather optimistic with really dark brown hair! Ah the stupidity of youth!

  15. Recently in Papeete, I went snorkeling, applied sunscreen on all the exposed parts, at least I thought I did. After going back to the ship when I took a shower, I felt a sharp pain at the back of the knees, the bending part, which I had carelessly missed covering with sunscreen. After pain was gone, awful itchiness came. After a few sleepless nights, I went to ship doctor's. Itchiness still keeps annoying me together with the very sharp lines printed on the skin between the exposed part and the above-knee snorkeling suit I was wearing then.
    Don't forget to slop on the back parts of your legs, too. Strong rays are merciless.

  16. Yep – not much at all. I don't think there are any old photos of me with a hat on – even on those yearly holidays to the beach! I think dad ignored a lot of things that should've been checked out before.

  17. Ouch! That sounds incredibly painful! When I burnt the backs of my knees I couldn't sit in a car for 3 or 4 days to get back home and didn't get to uni for another week after that. I don't think my university tutors believed that I couldn't get to classes because of sunburn!

  18. LOL – amazing how foolish youth can be. As soon as I get dried out of the shower now I put sunscreen on my face (hopefully in the future, they don't find the chemicals in sunscreen are bad for us!).

  19. ….unless you count the sum total of 45 minutes of sunshine annually.LOL – I'm pretty sure I could get burnt in those minutes! There must be a lot of people with Vitamin D deficiencies where you live.

  20. I think I was just born and raised in the "wrong" country. UV levels in Australia are higher than Europe and being located close to the Antarctic ozone hole means higher levels get through to all those silly teenaged girls, lying around slathered in baby oil. During our summer the earth's orbit takes Australia closer to the sun than Europe during its summer resulting in an additional 7% solar UV intensity. Add our clearer atmospheric conditions and we are exposed to about 15% more UV than Europeans. (I couldn't find figures to compare between north America and Australia).

  21. We all thought we looked so healthy with that golden tinge (and thinner!). Now I look at Nicole Kidman, Judy Davis and Cate Blanchett and think they are gorgeous in their paleness. Yeah – I like those sun bleached animal bones. They should act as a warning! LOL.

  22. You are pretty close.:-) This is on the very southern edge of the Atacama Desert. The average rainfall is about 1" though some places of the desert have never recorded rain. Not the sort of country I want to wander around in.

  23. I had to search to find the answer to your question on public education as I have not noticed advertisements on tv or billboards here. There is a Skin Cancer Foundation organisation and I see that May is Skin Cancer Awareness month. But – there is no public education like we have. LOL the memory card – I deliberately gave him a 4Gb card with the camera. Yes it is about 8,000 feet in altitude.

  24. Yes Sergio there is much better advice these days about the dangers of the sun. I think they say that you need 15 minutes a day to get a healthy dose of Vitamin D.

  25. LOL – one of the driest parts of the world – I'm sure there are a few bones out there! Ha ha – that's funny about the lemon juice on your hair – we used to pour straight peroxide on ours!

  26. Oooh Magnifka that sounds nasty!! I remember that itchiness on the backs of my knees when I burnt them. I think one of the things I put on them was pinetarsal which helped with the itch but made me smell like a hotdog! LOL. I'm glad your sunburn did not ruin your cruise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

