Takes on Tequila

~

A couple of months ago Dr D came to stay and brought the gift of liquid fire – tequila.  

Chamucos roughly translates from Spanish to "Boogie Man"  and the label has ghostly spirit creatures on it.  It is a 100% agave tequila.

Chamucos was originally produced at Tequilena, S.A. de C.V. (NOM-1146).  Those original bottles had a brown, glass escudo or medallion on the bottle. Now produced at Tequila Quiote, the bottles are similar but the escudo is a little different and the bottles are clear glass.  The tequila is specially aged in white oak barrels and bottled in hand blown bottles in a little town called San Francisco de Asis,  in Atotonilco el Alto, Jalisco.  

We finished it on the weekend. It was mighty good to the last drop! 

IMG_1818aIMG_1829aIMG_1831IMG_7965a

IMG_7968aIMG_7978aIMG_7983aIMG_7985a

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

29 responses

  1. LOL – not weird at all! My mother used to soak labels she liked off bottles and varnished them onto the inside of cupboards. For a while I used to remove ones I liked and put them in an album but then I discovered that labels got harder and harder to get off without damaging them and I gave up.

  2. Yes, there were some shots done! 🙂 The manservant put some into margaritas also – which I was a bit shocked about when I saw the price of this stuff!

  3. Hi Raymond – the 100% blue agave tequila doesn't come with a worm. The worm is usually in the mezcal which is made from fermented agave too but not the blue one and there is something different regarding the sugars. We do have a bottle with a worm in it – we have had it for about 5 years – I don't think mezcal ages like fine wine (but I don't know) – I'm just keeping it to show people ! LOL.

  4. ohhhh, tequila. the spirit, along with sake, whose nature for which i've learned utmost respect … the brutal way. lol. i approach tequila the same way i approach a crabby unbalanced old lady with a cane: with caution, trepidation, wisdom, conservatism and always one eye on the escape route! nice bottles.

  5. WOW now that is the drink of the gods MMMMmmm! Tasty stuff! But I always perfected the cheap stuff the ones that left people on the floor when they tried to out drink me! But a good expensive drinking liquor, where the taste was more important then getting drunk! What a nice present to bring,but I did way too much of that drinking thing but only Monday to Sunday 24-7 Bad Jamie bad!

  6. It is interesting to go on the site and to see the birth of the brand which is related as a legend. The bottle looking old style reinforce the legitimity.

  7. No willpower involved – tequila makes me want to throw up.Yes, my agave is pretty big.. 4' tall x 3' across. There are actually quite a few of them planted along the street near me, behind some houses (it's clear that the owners did it to keep people away and/or beautify the area). I'm shocked that no one has taken them. I had a ficus tree and hanging planter stolen off my front porch 3 years ago.. while I was home!

  8. I think they are using tougher glue than they used to. I used to have some bottles with hand painted "labels" but they didn't make the move. Thank you re the cork photo.

  9. That Agavero is a nice bottle! We don't buy many spirits – I'm more of a wine person – so it is nice when people come to stay and bring something interesting, in a bottle, with them.

  10. LOL! That is a wonderful description/analogy! I tried sake many years ago and didn't really like it – perhaps it is time to give it another go.

  11. There are so very many varieties ranging from cheap rot gut to ultra-excellent. Some sakes are best drunk chilled, others hot. There is dry, fruity, cloudy and clear. I couldn't possibly detail them, that's why people write books on sake. Don't give up on sake, you might've had a poor one (with sake esp., you really do get what you pay for) or one that wasn't served properly.

  12. I didn't like it when I was younger and even now I prefer it in a strawberry margarita – but I think that is the difference between a cheap tequila and a more expensive one – this one was nicely smooth.

Leave a Reply

