A day in the life of

~   someone else's camera.

I gave the manservant a camera for his birthday – a small point & shoot Canon which fits in his shirt pocket. Today I got a chance to play with it.  

This morning we rented a car for a trip to the nursery for potting mix and plants. This is the jallopy we got: 

IMG_0097IMG_0098IMG_0100aUs


We came home with quite a bounty – at least we hope produce will be bountiful: 

Last spring we applied to the city council for a free tree to go in the nature strip between footpath and gutter.  This is a program to "green" the city and once it is planted it is basically on its own – or at the mercy of the citizen who applied for it.     We didn't hear anything back from them so assumed that we had been assessed as not suitable to be tree parents.  Then, one day during winter, a tall grey "stick" appeared.  No note;  no instructions; no name.
Last week it started sprouting leaves and today I noticed they are quite prolific: 


Back into our own garden -  visitors are met by a Japanese maple:                                                                   


The azaleas under our front windows are a profusion of colour.   There are actually 3 different coloured azaleas here but they are starting to blend in.  Perhaps I should be pruning them.  At least then the Pepco guy would be able to read the electric meter accurately.  

The peonies have buds: 


My vox neighbour,  Magnifika,  recently went on a cruise which included a stop in Australia.  She has been posting about her time there and yesterday did a post on Didgeridoos.   I mentioned to her in a message that the manservant and I have a didgeridoo each and she asked if I would photograph them and post them.  So …  mine is on the left.  The manservant makes quite good sound on his – mine is more for decoration!  

                                 

  

Mmmm……    I was having huge problems trying to get this saved and posted using Firefox on my Mac, so I copied and pasted it into vox using Safari – and this funky white box(s) is the result!!  After saving in Safari I went back to Firefox and inserted the photo of the two didgeridoos -  hence the black "box" in the middle of the funky white ones!   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

39 responses

  1. funky is right! – lol. if you need help, you can just ask, i know my way around macs pretty well and am reasonably well versed in safari and firefox (though i myself have dumped both, safari esp., for camino, a firefox modeled for macs). nerd talk aside, do you know the tree planted on behalf of greenery? no clue? something that prolific, i'm wondering whether it's a variety of maple. they're rapid growers and take over!

  2. I think the only way it can be fixed now is to delete it and re-do it and that's not appealing now. I rarely use Safari but tonight I couldn't get my photos uploaded using it so copied the text and carried it over to safari which was happily accepting the photos. What browser do you use? Not sure what sort of tree it is – I was hoping someone would tell me. 🙂

  3. Camino (as mentioned in the comment). There are a few preferences it lacks that Firefox offers; aside from that, I really like its Mac interface. Hahah, yeah, googling "tree with pointy leaves" won't get you far except possibly a step closer to the madhouse.

  4. Oh sorry – yes you did write Camino – my only excuse is that it is latish! LOL. Yes contacting the greenery people would be a good idea…..

  5. Nice garden selections. But I'm most envious of the didgeridoos. I have some music by Tipurru (Didgeridoo player from NZ or AU (I forget)) in my Vox Music library.

  6. Isn't it amazing how a stick can suddenly bud and there you go….heretofore previously thought to be non suitable to be tree parents become the proud owners of a stick with leaves. Congratulations!!!

  7. Thank you so much for your time, Emjay!!!
    The two didgeridoos are very artistic and beautiful with paintings! The one our performer had was not colored but just looked like a natural wooden stick. I have been fascinated by its sound. I would like to have one for myself…even for decoration. 🙂
    The leaves of the photoIMG_0126a looks like those of a Japanese oak tree which bears acorns.

  8. Beautiful garden emjay, especially the Japanese maple.Did you know that traditionally indigenous women are not supposed to play the didgeridoo? We had some indigenous dance performers last year at school, they were brilliant.

  9. My main concern in this story is for the Manservant! He probably needs serious counselling after your tampering with his present.Mrs GOF is the camera expert in this house. I bought myself a baby Canon to take on my recent trip…..took a fortnight to program everything the way I wanted it, then Mrs GOF apparently got hold of it to "try it out" without my knowledge, half filled up the memory card and left it with a whole lot of settings I had no clue how to change.

  10. The fun of computers Love the plants I need to get a look at the garden to see what there is room for, but at least you got a nice enough vehicle to get you there and bring you back home with your plants! Also have to laugh at some of those plant a tree intensives in the city especially with the way most people treat any plants and how good the roots are from a try at disturbing any underground pipes, wires, etc But you know they do look better then the lack of them! I keep looking at interments lately but the alto sax cast too much and I do not think I could play many interments anymore, but they are very nice Didgeridoos!

  11. I find myself continually intrigued by your photos and view on life. Strange how we run across each other on the web, isn't it? I have to ask, how did you end up in DC? I could probably figure it out if I read far enough back, but so far I haven't! You seem to know a lot of people from all over the world.

  12. The sound of a didgeridoo, played by someone who knows what they are doing, is amazing. I will have to check out your music library. The manservant has a didge at his office and a friend's place – he says that just blowing into the didgeridoo relaxes him.

  13. Japanese Maples are just gorgeous. I think the previous owner might have planted ours a bit too close to the house though – we might have to get some professional help in a couple of years to prune it properly (the thought of doing that (pruning) scares me though). We were pretty convinced that the stick was just that; a stick! LOL. then it really did surprise us.

  14. The manservant has one didgeridoo in his office which does not have any decoration. Thank you, yes the leaves do look like the Japanese oak……. I will know once those acorns start appearing!

  15. Thank you re the garden – luckily someone else had done all the hard work in getting it established otherwise it might just be full of pinebark LOL. Yes, it is interesting about the indigenous women not playing the didgeridoo – I have read that it is taboo for them to play it in ceremonies but ok to play in private.

  16. I used to have a garden in Australia and I hated doing anything in it – I think it was just too big to "manage". Now we have a tiny little yard and I love it!

  17. Oh – a saxophone would be wonderful! One of DC's greening initiatives was to plant trees on wide medians in the middle of some of our main thoroughfare type roads…. but – no-one watered them and they died! We don't have much dirt to plant in so we are going to try growing in pots this year. Last year we had one tomato bush in the garden and some herbs in pots – this year we are growing more herbs and veggies in pots.

  18. Hi Kimber – yes I do seem to have "collected" people from all over. It's really quite wonderful. When people ask what brought me to America I tell them "I married an American and it seemed the right thing to be living with him". I met him whilst he was working in Australia and his next position was going to be in DC. . I did come over and checked out DC, New York city, LA, San Francisco and Hawaii before I decided to move! I go back home every year though just to get "regrounded".

  19. I absolutely love the sounds they make! I'd love to hear some of that combined with some native African music… that's "world beat" that I could really get into!not sure if this link to my Tijpurru music will work. I heard him on KCRW the same day that he was going to play a rare LA show but there was no way I could make it. He normally tours AU and NZ schools.

  20. The previous owners did plant ours too close to the house. I have to prune it every year, but you'd be surprised how much they like it. The only year she didn't get a good pruning was the year that she budded early and then we got an awful freeze. A good 4 – 6 inches of the outermost branches died. I was too afraid to stress her out even more by pruning her, but that turned out to be a bad decision. I ended up pruning her that fall and did a really deep pruning of her outermost tips last fall and now she is fuller than she has been in years. The outermost branches are very thin and easy to snip. You may want to get help if you want to remove limbs. I've done this myself and she has always responded well.

  21. There's so much wonderfulness here!!How cool is taht, getting a free tree! It looks healthy!Your azaleas are lovely. They do like to be pruned now and then…Your peonies have buds!!!!!! WOW!The didgeridoos are BEAUTIFUL!!!!So neat that you rented a car for the nursery trip. the stuff you go pooks super.And congrats on the camera!!

  22. Yes! I agree with you on the "world beat". You might enjoy Yothu Yindi.The link did not work but I Googled Tjupurru. He plays what he describes as a Didgeribone – a cross between a didge and a trombone and plays with a seismic sensor implanted inside his mouth! Not very traditional but certainly fascinating.

  23. Wow! That's great information thank you. Do you cut it back in spring? I have probably left it too late for this year as it is full of new shoots.

  24. There should be some good video in the archives of KCRW.com from his appearance there.I have the 5 songs from his only CD in my library. I figured the link wouldn't work but you can go look for them if you want (my audio library is pretty small). It's REALLY pissing me off that the files are properly tagged by Vox search is claiming it can't find anything!

  25. LOL – your typo was very funny! After our last electric bill I was tempted to run out and pull the azalea closest to the meter out of the ground!!! They are really beautiful colours. Last year I had cut peonies in vases and the perfume was delightful.

  26. I think it's better to do the heavy pruning in the fall, but mine gets so wild and woolly that I have to trim the thin outermost branches once or twice during the spring and summer. Every place that gets trimmed sprouts even more thin branches so it just keeps growing….kind of like those tomato plants…hahhahahah!!!

  27. Lovely free oak tree, may it live long and prosper as they say in Star Wars… or was it Star Trek?Love the plants; my sweet pepper plant from last year has resurrected and is currently in my office, showing off its 3 peppers.

  28. LOL – I think that was the Vulcun salute! It is wonderful to get something for free! They also give rebates for trees planted in your own yard but our courtyard is not big enough. None of our peppers survived the winter….. poor things. I hope you enjoy your 3 peppers!!

Leave a Reply

