Ponderings …

Things I pondered today:

Why does a mouse want to live in a cupboard full of only tinned food?

Further,  how does a mouse know not to run on the third rail of the train tracks?

Why do people waste time saying "Let me ask you a question"  instead of just asking it?

How can I know that I have hundreds of safety pins and yet not find even one to keep my top from gaping this morning?

Why does metro have a "down"  escalator working but not the "up" one?  (they can turn a key and change the direction).  Surely this is not some altruistic way of shaping up riders!

Why does my 10am break from the reception desk seem to coincide with a cleaning of the toilets only when I have drunk too much juice/water that morning. 

On a day of pouring rain why does the mailman not close the lid to the mail box?????

Why hasn't my damaged black toe nail fallen off yet?  (it was hurt in the first week of December).

Why do I have a kitchen full of food and yet find nothing to eat for dinner!!!

*********
Where is spring??  Today it was just really, really dismal here.

I took this photo from a plane as I flew from Rome to Munich:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

40 responses

  1. Lots of fun questions, I used to think of how to build things! Remember all questions have answers or at least a smart ass who would stand there and give you his or her best representation of an answer to all your questions without any asking or coaching for them! Alps seem so small from the plane! Great list of thoughts and the bathroom is that not always the way!

  2. Why does a mouse want to live in a cupboard full of only tinned food?
    He has a can opener.
    Further, how does a mouse know not to run on the third rail of the train tracks?
    He watched the mouse with the can opener do it first.
    Why do people waste time saying "Let me ask you a question" instead of just asking it?
    To give themselves time to think of a question.
    How can I know that I have hundreds of safety pins and yet not find even one to keep my top from gaping this morning?
    The mouse hid them all because he likes it when your top gapes open.
    Why does metro have a "down" escalator working but not the "up" one?
    You can only go one direction at a time, anyway. You just happen to be going the wrong direction.
    Why does my 10am break from the reception desk seem to coincide with a cleaning of the toilets only when I have drunk too much juice/water that morning.
    It's a conspiracy. A mouse watches how much you drink and tells the janitorial staff when you start looking uncomfortable.
    On a day of pouring rain why does the mailman not close the lid to the mail box?????
    To drive you to drink, which in turn will have to make you go to the bathroom. He's in on the conspiracy.
    Why hasn't my damaged black toe nail fallen off yet?
    'Cuz it's tough. It's tough as… nevermind.
    Why do I have a kitchen full of food and yet find nothing to eat for dinner!!!
    Duh. Mouse? Can opener? Have you been listening?

  3. Why hasn't my damaged black toe nail fallen off yet? (it was hurt in the first week of December). Because it's been delaying it so you'd blog the question and gross us out. To the remainder of your questions, I have no answer.

  4. Your mind was working on intelligent things then – like wondering how something was built or put together. My day, yesterday, just seemed to be full of pithy annoying things! The Alps went on & on – what I really needed was a movie camera not the point & shoot.

  5. Wooohoooooooo!!! GREAT questions!!Beats me…That "Let me ask you a question" one irks me. Along with, "Can I ask you a question?" LOLEwwwww creepy weather the past couple of days. Maybe the sun will be out today? Your Alps picture is STUNNING!!!!!!!!!

  6. It can be quite entertaining to "wonder why?" . Lifes little mysteries can keep one pondering forever. Thank you re the photo – they looked so majestic even though they looked small from that height.
    The sun is out this morning! But …. they forecast clouds and more rain this afternoon.

  7. Not a fun day, I guess. There is promise of better weather soon!Completely hear you on the safety pin thing. I remember an old trick of keeping some safety pins pinned to the inside of your handbags..but I'd probably lose the bag!

  8. How can I know that I have hundreds of safety pins and yet not find even one to keep my top from gaping this morning?Oh, how I sympathize with this lament!Why do these things happen? They are due to Finagle's Law of Dynamic Negatives. Murphy gets a break today. πŸ˜€

  9. Thank you Apolline. I think I would enjoy Jacques Tati's films – I don't think I have seen any. I think my mailman is just getting back at us for him having to be out doing his job in the rain! πŸ™‚

  10. LOL – I have done that with my handbags and wallets but I tend to use them or give them away at work and then forget to replace them. Today was all 4 seasons in one! I think summer is coming on the w/end though – in the 80's forecast.

  11. LOL! Clever. I think the mailman is punishing us for having indoor jobs – it annoys the hell out of me though because it only happens when it rains/snows/ices. I'm beginning to wonder if I will ever get a new toe nail. I will want to be in sandals soon – I'm going to have to paint the other 9 nails in black polish to match! πŸ™‚

  12. they're magnificent, there's just no other word for 'em. water's my element and i appreciate a good mountain as much as the next person, i suppose, but these, these blew me away …

Leave a Reply

