Sometimes ….

                           I just feel so insignificant.   

A little like a helicopter flying over Uluru (Ayers Rock) at sunset:


Uluru (Ayers Rock)  is 862.5 metres above sea level,  348 metres high (1141 feet);  3.6 km long (2.2 miles);  1.9km wide (1.2 miles);  and 9.4 km around the base (5.8 miles).  It also extends several kilometres into the ground!

It even manages to look massive from the air:   it is not foggy;  it was just a really dirty plane window!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

40 responses

  1. Oh god. No offense but I detest the desert. For personal reasons of which I shall spare you. I cannot even look at these without *cringing.* I'll kindly await pictures of tropical fish floating in warm waters.

  2. Now that is a big rock, I wish I remembered the other place down under where I seen a TV show about a rocky area where a school girl went missing back in the 1800 under mysterious circumstances.Because I know there is still problems with people climbing Uluru (Ayers Rock) because of it significance to the Aborigines

  3. It does seem like a sleeping giant. It has the most amazing colour changes depending on the time of day. We went in the middle of the day, 2 sunsets and a sunrise.

  4. I think you are referring to the movie "Picnic at Hanging Rock"?? It was based on a school excursion to Hanging Rock – a volcanic rock in the state of Victoria. Yes, the Aboriginals do not wish people to climb Uluru because it is sacred to them. We were happy to respect those wishes.

  5. After I had uploaded them I realised I should have cropped them a bit across the top. The helicopter looks so small flying along the almost flat top of the rock.

  6. I decided to have my 50th birthday out there just looking at that ancient stone. We watched the sun rise over it on my birthday morning and the sunset on it that night – it made me feel I was invincible too. (and the night sky out there is amazing!).

  7. The window of the plane was really dirty. This rocky mountain like a mineral island surrounded by the desert. I understand how you can feel to be insignifiant in such a place !

  8. lol. no worries, plenty of pics online. it just amazes when i meet people who don't know how to swim. of course i admit i'm heavily biased because i was born with fins …. still, strange concept

  9. They have the helicopter joy flights but I don't think they have small plane ones – not that I saw anyway. The helicopter rides were really, really expensive!

  10. Beautiful pictures. I have similar ones from when I was there in 2005. Sadly I was there on honeymoon and have since been divorced. The holiday was amazing if you take the 'company' out of the equation.
    I woke up at 3am because of a messed up body clock and sat on the balcony along drinking Daintree tea until the sun rose – I was lucky enough to be in a room which overlooked Uluru – I have never before seen such an amazing sight, nor do I suspect I ever will again.
    One day I will realise my dream, and hopefully move out to Australia. I think I left my heart there.

  11. Thank you. I'm sorry the memory of your time there is tinged with a divorce! There are so many wonderful sights in Australia – I hope you got to see a few of them and I hope you get back there some day.

Leave a Reply

