Cold Toes

`

I was having a whinge about how cold and wet my feet are getting in my joggers but then I thought about how rough the  Roman's had it:    (these are from the 16th century).


We have exchanged the snow and ice of Milan for really heavy rain and winds back in Rome.  There was meant to be a rail strike today but it was cancelled because of the bad weather.  LOL – seriously!   The hotel clerk told me it is because the roads are flooded and people would not be able to drive so easily to work. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

22 responses

  1. That mail boot just doesn't look real comfortable, does it? You are doing so well for having a bad ankle. I just hope that when you get home, a rest will improve it. Your photos have all been fantastic – the buildings, the art, the statues. I have enjoyed seeing Italy through your eyes.

  2. When I first saw the photo you took of that foot wear I was thinking maybe she wanted a pair ( along with other smart ass comments) but I love that about the strike that would never happen here, they would never call it off! You enjoy yourself and Lots of Luck buying and getting a pair of boots like that through security at the airport!

  3. I must admit if the unions could cause more issues by striking when you couldn't get around they would for more impact, sad but true.I wonder if those shoes were worn on a day to day basis or just in battle?

  4. Thank you Nikki – we were just put on "alert" that the Tiber River might break its banks late tonight/early tomorrow. We are on the second floor of our hotel – hopefully that is high enough!

  5. LOL – I would need 5E wide for the left foot. I have seen gorgeous shoes here (even their lace ups are gorgeous) but it would be a bit hard to try any on at the moment. (I suppose I don't know if my left foot is ever going to be "skinny" again so am reluctant to buy for the future).

  6. It was quite strange. The general strike went ahead with the exception of the transport (trains/buses). Things are really bad here economy wise – interestingly though, there are not a lot of sales in the stores to encourage people to spend.

  7. Thank you Gina – I seem to be experiencing a bit of everything. I hope to experience some shopping tomorrow LOL. I have only bought a couple of souvenir type things so far!

  8. Mmm…. perhaps only in battle and only for the horse riders. When we got to the Metro station this morning there were big signs up saying "Strike cancelled" – which seemed strange because you would only go to the station because you assumed you could catch a train.

  9. True! I'm not sure whether they were going to strike for more money – it seemed to be more of a general statement on the current economic situation. In many ways it is frustrating to be in a country where you don't understand the language and so don't understand why something is happening.

  10. @Emjay – lol, no need to tell me twice — or once! i've traveled a lot, lived overseas, definitely know that feeling! still, i can't imagine any u.s. unionized transportation industry sayin', "gee, let's call it off." damn greedy b**tards!

  11. I have seen gorgeous shoes here (even their lace ups are gorgeous) but it would be a bit hard to try any on at the moment. (I suppose I don't know if my left foot is ever going to be "skinny" again so am reluctant to buy for the future). That's enough to make me cry. We'd best go drown our sorrows in a nice bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

