My green tomato efforts

`
Big day in the kitchen…  first up were fried green tomatoes as an appetizer at lunch:  Thanks to Queen of Fractal Beauty for her hints: 

The milk was off so I mixed the egg with half & half for the "wash" .    The bakery section of Giant Supermarket sold the manservant something they use to make batter/crumbs with -  I'm not sure what it was as it came unlabelled but I suspect there was cornflour in it:

After the dunking and dusting I fried the slices in olive oil which I have had chillies from the garden steeping in for a couple of weeks.  Then drained on paper towels and eaten while hot: 

Yum

After an afternoon nap I attempted a pie based on a combination of a recipe Margy sent me and a link to a recipe from Connie:  green tomatoes, raisins (sultanas), lemon juice, sugar, whiskey, flour, breadcrumbs.  

 

Who'd have thought green tomatoes could taste like apples!   Seriously, except for the seeds, you would think you were eating apple pie!  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

48 responses

  1. How interesting. So is this a special variety of tomatoes that is green when ripe (kind of like granny smith apples) or are they just normal un-ripe ones? Makes me think of that movie "Fried Green Tomatoes at teh Whistlestop Cafe'.

  2. How interesting. So is this a special variety of tomatoes that is green when ripe (kind of like granny smith apples) or are they just normal un-ripe ones? Makes me think of that movie "Fried Green Tomatoes at teh Whistlestop Cafe'. Unripe tomatoes. And you are right to think of that book/movie! 8:-)

  3. you have to love preconceptions of things where you would never think it could taste like that! they all sound interesting just the pie did not come to mind but they do almost anything in a pie anymore cheese, meat, potatoes, fish, vegetables of all sorts so delicious sounding! And it is always fun to have cooking ensnarement, you can end up with such delicious messes!

  4. Thank you …. yes, I have enough left to try Purple's salsa and a half quantity of Sergio's jam! I hope your mother put the fried green tomatoes on her holiday menu! 🙂

  5. I see Queen beat me to the answer.. we picked them because we were about to some nasty frosty weather and I didn't want to see all those tomatoes wasted. My grandmother used to make "apple" pie using chokos – which always seem plentiful in Australia!

  6. Dad used to cut tomatoes in half and fry them with bacon and eggs. It was strange to be "battering" them but they did taste good. Apples have a better consistency so the inside of this pie looked a bit "mushy" – I suppose that is why you add flour and breadcrumbs.

  7. The only real difference was in the consistency – it was "mushier" than apples and it was weird to see the seeds! I preferred the fried ones – they were so good and I think the chilli oil helped!

  8. LOL! I think the trick is to put it in a very hot oven for 15 minutes and then slow it way down for a long time. I put this in 425 for 15 mins and then 325 for 50 mins. It helps that I have a huge marble bench top to roll it on too.

  9. LOL @ delicious messes! Luckily these both turned out and they were easy to do – I only had to sit on the stool for a short time – so they were not hard on my foot either!

  10. I think cornflour is what we call cornmeal – so yes it def had that taste and texture but it also had seasoning/flavouring in it. The baker told the manservant they use it as a batter for their savoury items. I wasn't really sure whether it would work as a coating but it did. I would do the fried tomatoes again but probably not the pie – if I'm going to eat apple pie I would rather it be apples!

  11. It was strange to be using green tomatoes. I don't think anyone in Australia uses them while green – not anyone I know anyway. Are all fruits and vegetables less than par in Thailand?

  12. The pie looked awesome Emjay – really beautifuly done! i'll have to try it – it doesn't look mushy at all. perfect really!
    Yes – I told my mother about the fried green tomatoes and she's adding it – they are really easy to make. i'm a horrible cook though – in fact i don't cook – i burn – lol! my fried green tomatoes would not be picture perfect at all. Both of your dishes came out picture perfect really! I bet the pie was yummy with ice cream!
    my mom cooks while sitting on a bar stool as well – you guys are dedicated cooks! what a wounderful talent – it did not rub off – lol!

  13. @Emjay – perhaps. location location location. ;D in the uk, the fine powdery thickener is corn flour, in the states, cornstarch. in the us, corn flour is the fine flour whose uses include tortillas and batters (like here), whereas cornmeal is the gritty stuff used in cornbread. are we all confused now? lol

  14. Oh, the fruits are excellent here, just different than what I'd normally eat in the US. Thailand has mangos, papaya, pineapples, guava, bananas and other tropical fruits that I'd never heard of until moving here. In the US, I'd eat stuff like apples, pears, peaches, strawberries, blueberries – stuff like that.

  15. Gorgeous green tomato dishes!! Seeing your rich harvest, I thought of fried green tomatoes but never of its pie! Putting raisins in it is a good idea to add sweetness. Next year I will try to grow tomatoes, not tomato trees and try your recipe.

  16. LOL – I thought all Australians had had chokos. When I was a kid it seemed that everyone grew them and there were always buckets of them out on the footpaths with little "free" signs for those who didn't . Maybe they are not so popular anymore.

  17. They were both actually very easy and pretty quick. It helped to have the nap inbetween LOL. I am pleased that I have now done the fried green tomatoes after all these years of hearing about them. I'm hoping to do your salsa recipe this w/end.

  18. Yes the raisins (which were really what Australians call Sultanas – we have something bigger which we call raisins). There was also a cup of sugar to help sweeten it. It seemed strange to be eating tomatoes as a sweet. They were so easy to grow – I think you could put one in your garden as long as it is a sunny position.

  19. No, not us Mexicans. Maybe too cold for them? Gardens really different in Melbourne from what they are in Sydney. My Pa had a huge vegetable garden and used to grow things like parsnip, pumpkins and carrots, I remember. Definitely no chokoes.

  20. Yeah – probably too cold to grow them in Melbourne. We lived out in western NSW – nice and warm! 🙂 I think my grandfather tried his hand at growing just about every type of vegetable – some more successful than others. Perhaps your family knows them as chayote – the state of Veracruz is a huge chayote growing area.

  21. Hiii, i was just wondering where you got your green tomatoes…
    Im from Mexico going to Melbourne to visit a friend and I'm gonna cook a mexican dish that needs them.. but we havent had luck finding them..
    any suggestions???

  22. Hi Andrea and welcome to Vox. I actually grew the tomatoes in my garden. I live in Washington DC and as soon as the first frost of winter was about to hit I picked all the tomatoes left on the bush and used them before they had a chance to ripen. Do you mean Melbourne in Florida or Melbourne in Australia?

Leave a Reply

