QotD: Broken Bones

Have you ever broken a bone? If so, how?

I have broken two bones …..   my little finger and my tailbone – though not both at the same time.

When I was about 11 or 12 I was playing "junior" darts with one of my sisters and my brother.  Apparently someone had not hung the board on the nail properly so that when I pulled a dart out of the board the board came off the wall….  one of those metal "pie piece" dividers skewered my finger and the board was left hanging off my pinkie!  It never reset properly so I have a funky little finger which can be twisted around as though it is made of gristle instead of bone!   It was a great teenage party trick but I try to restrain myself now.

Then, when I was 13 years old, I was sashaying across my grandmother's freshly waxed kitchen floor in a pair of her high heels ……   need I say more?  The result was a humiliating trip to the doctor, a funky shaped cushion and a lifetime of discomfort on hard seats!  

Oh! And I recently discovered that I had broken a bone in my foot at some time – same foot which has now resided in a cast for 3 months.  It was found on the x-ray and MRI when they were looking for the cause of my foot falling apart. In hindsight I'm pretty sure that this break was done sometime in my 20's during a week's vacation to the beach which seemed to involve a lot of drinking! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

25 responses

  1. well besides the finger I cut in half the two fingers one one each hands I broke and and other things I did when I was drunk but never had the operations to fix my right arm! I didn't brake that easily, chipped a few bones but that sounds like a great discovery, after mri and xray finding a broken bone in your surgically repaired foot! your a lucky person well not good luck when it comes to this!

  2. …"seemed to involve a lot of drinking"… now that's a vacation! I've had a couple like that, which I try to remember not to refer to in front of my kids ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. "I was sashaying…", Emjay, I haven't heard anyone use that term in years. Kudos for sharing with one an all the word of the day. Uh, are you going to include the little pinky finger trick on your upcoming video of 'How to Sashay for Dummies' ?

  4. I broke my right leg in two places when I was ten, tripping over a tree root on the way to school. Then, years later, I broke my jaw in two places, fainting in the bathroom while seeking meds for a migraine, and hitting the sink, then the tub, on the way down. Graceful, I ain't.

  5. Wow! You have done a lot of damage to yourself! It is funny to think I could break a bone and not know – I guess it didn't hurt that much! It hasn't caused any problems so they just left it alone when they did the surgery.

  6. LOL … home videos! I tend to use a lot of "old fashioned" words – I must say that I think sashaying probably captured exactly what I would have been doing at that age! Not so much sashaying these days. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. LOL! I just reread this post and wonder if I might have been "cheating" at the darts when this happened! LOL…… well, I was playing with my siblings. I am happy to have you as a neighbour….. I believe it all started with those funky little red "plastic" cookware you posted photos of. Now I keep coming back for your cooking.

  8. (((bonehugs)))It's amazing the things that we do and have happen, and we still keep going on with things…LOL re restraining yourself now, with the finger……no pix? NO!! WAIT! It might hurt it…if you haven't done it for awhile……..

  9. LOL …. considering I was walking around with "niggling" pain in my foot and look what happened to it…. I am not too keen to encourage surgery on my finger by "playing' with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

