Hanna came to town ..

`
and we lost power!

Yesterday morning I was settling in for a day of Television, TiVo, and Vox.

I listened to the weather man telling me that the average September rainfall of  3.79"  was likely to fall in a single afternoon. 

I listened to him tell me that on average 250 people per year drown in their cars here in America.  

Just as the weatherman was repeating his warning about not driving into water with a wise 'turn around, don't drown"  everything went dark with a click.    It was just after 10.30am – I had just had my coffee (thank God). 

For the first couple of hours it was sort of a novelty.  I started "The Book Thief".  
By the 4th hour I was feeling fidgety.
The 6th hour I was wondering why the people across the street had power while our entire side was out (the manservant toddled out in the rain to check on that). 

At 5pm we started pulling the candles out and the manservant went out to buy a second torch (flashlight) and hot food.  We ate dinner and I went back to reading by flashlight   By 8pm I was sick of reading this way.

I sat on the couch looking at those blazing houses across the street.  What a waste – some of those people had a light on in every room!  And, they were probably watching tv and surfing the web too!

Finally just after 10pm the lights came back on – just in time for bed!!

So what did we do before electricity?   The first ten years of my life were without electricity – we used to play musical instruments (piano, guitar, recorder) and board games.  I still entertain myself the same way really except that now I have an electronic keyboard and computer games!!

I couldn't go outside in the rain to take photos because of the cast but here is one of Hanna knocking on our door:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

51 responses

  1. We got socked with some fairly heavy rain last night, but nothing like what others have reported. Sorry to hear about the power outage. Amazing what we become dependent upon!

  2. I wondered why you were so quiet yesterday. It is amazing how paralyzed we feel without electricity. When we lost ours for nearly a week this past December it really took some getting used to. And like with you, the people across the street from us never lost theirs. That made doubly annoying!

  3. It's funny – I've always had electricity…but when we would lose it, I'd teach the kids things that were done without it way back when. hehehe They did think I was a dinosaur! But it also seems like when the electricity or water is out, is when you can think of all the things you need to be doing that requires whatever it is you don't have at the time.

  4. Living before power was possible because people were not waiting for and they were organized differently. May be with the electricity people are more individual and less social ?

  5. I think it is amazing what we get used to and take for granted – we are pretty spoilt. I know people are without power for days & days and cope but I think I would have to move to a hotel. LOL.

  6. LOL – I kept imagining the people across the street with their air conditioning, hot water, microwaves, lights, tv, computers, battery chargers, sewing machines (ok, I didn't really imagine that one)…… I could do a week in winter (maybe) but not in summer – it is too hot here without a/c. Ok – upon reflection maybe I couldn't do winter without the heating either.

  7. LOL – my kids think I am pre-historic dinosaur! They can not imagine no electricity and having to cook with a wood stove or wash clothes in a copper. And, I'm not really that old! (they were great old days though!).

  8. We have a generator for the power thing, it happens regularly enough here, worse than the boredom, the kids are panicked every time the power goes out. When we have to use the generator we use the heat if we need it, we snuggle on the couch and watch a movie and we turn off all the lights until bed, then we use a nightlight.

  9. We had a generator but no television! It seems (in my memory at least) that we went to bed as soon as it got dark summer or winter. The generator must have only provided light as we had a wood stove, wood copper and fireplaces – my mother even plugged the iron into the light socket!! I was 13 before we got tv. We used to have an old battery operated record player. We kids used to put on "concerts" playing instruments and records (like karoake pre kaoroake!). We used to read a lot too. The day that we got electricity it was very exciting – we had watched the power poles and line coming out further and further from town.

  10. Ok – upon reflection maybe I couldn't do winter without the heating either. I find it easier in the winter. At least we have a fireplace and lots of quilts to snuggle under. It's funny, when we go up to the hunting lease we have no electricity or running water and I manage just fine. I never get the urge to do anything that requires electricity. But here at home I'm like a fish out of water. Everything I want to do requires electricity. I guess surroundings count for a lot.

  11. And now you know when buying a Bar-B-Q you get it with a side burner so you can always have hot coffee!I laugh at if you have no power there is nothing to do, I lived through the ice storm without power for over a week living in a garage where there was our only source of heat cooking on the wood stove! But anymore there are items you can buy for your house that are like the UPS for computers (uninterrupted power supply) it would give you hours of power usage, but if you hooked it up to a light you would have days worth of power the same with a laptop! Or run a TV for and satilightdish for 4hours anymore where we live with the power going off at certain times a year I need to get a few more of these devices!It is a funny world when we put all are eggs in one basket and have to rely on electricity for everything! I just hope you are feeling a bit better as the days go on!

  12. Your childhood sounds very similar to mine. We had no electricity until I was twelve, and then it was only used for lights. We had a wood stove, a copper for doing the washing and heating up bath water, an iron that was heated on the stove, and a wind up gramophone on which we played 78 records. We had no TV (my parents didn't get that until after I left home) but we did always have a radio, which I suppose must have run on batteries. My parents couldn't have gone without listening to Blue Hills!I don't mind too much being without electricity because I've got a gas water heater and stove, except that I'm always terrified I'm going to lose the contents of my freezer, and I do miss the computer/internet.

  13. I never knew so many people drown in their cars every year. This is truly sad! But what's more sad is that you got power failure in all that bad weather. I would have gone berserk for a couple of hours in the house, like starting to do a full-house cleaning or something like that.

  14. I've read the Book Thief, I enjoyed it. I can't even remember the last time our electricity went off but I suspect that if it were to trip out for any length of time I would be entirely lost!

  15. I know the feeling about the electricity being off. It seems like I can't think of anything to do that doesn't require power. The worst of it is that when the power goes off, we don't have water either because we have our own well with an electric pump!

  16. Yes surroundings could make all the difference. We don't have a fireplace – you would think we would as the house was built in 1920 but someone must have pulled it out at sometime. Not that I mind that much – I remember a fireplace being a bit of work!

  17. We were thinking about dragging the BBQ out but running down the street seemed much easier – LOL at least for the manservant!! I don't suppose most people in a city think about a UPS backup unless they have a home office.

  18. I grew up west of Dubbo but it might as well have been in the real outback! We were 20 kms from town but it took them until the 60's to get power out there. We only got a bitumen road in the early 70's – and it ended right at our gate! People living out further didn't get a sealed road for quite a few more years. Maybe there wasn't a lot of money in our Shire coffers. 🙂

  19. Isn't it funny how "antsy" we get when something just stops working! I did enjoy The Book Thief – just as well I wasn't riding the metro as quite a few tears were shed in the reading!

  20. Oh, gosh! That's a shame!It was a nasty little visit she made, here, too — but we kept power (for once).We lose it all the time — windy days, lovely days……it's frsutrating and annoying.But you're right- -people did use to do fine without it. Just not us.Me, anyway.

  21. We lost power once this summer, for about 5 hours. It was pretty fun actually. DH tried to run the tv and internet with the RV battery. It didn't have enough juice. All I heard for the afternoon was "I'm bored" lol

  22. I think the only other time I have been without power since coming here 8 years ago was when our apartment building managers decided to upgrade something electrical which was only going to take 2 or 3 hours but something went very wrong and one whole tier of the building was without power for about 9 hours – we just happened to live in that tier! LOL.

  23. LOL! I don't think I would've been as bored if I was fully mobile – the whole thing was made worse by those lucky buggers across the street who kept their power! LOL.

  24. Oh, that's not good.A few years ago we had an ice storm and it was 10 above for the high during the day and 6 below at night– we lost power for 5 days and everything here is electric, including heat. the toilet worked and we had VERY cold water, but that was it. GAH!!The next summer there was a bad storm and we lost power for 6 days and it was 90 to 100 every day and humid -AND my Mom had just had a stroke and come home from the hsopital the day we lost power. A nightmare! I packed ice around her (from the supermarket) and used battery fans to keep her cool so she could sleep.We have battery TV and fans….and hot packs that you just shake.. etc.Serisouly, power loss here is frequent!Maybe sometime I'll do a post of power-loss preparations — there are easy things to do, to get ready.

  25. How annoying to be incapacitated and without power 😮
    I clearly remember the Winter of Discontent in '76, when the UK was brought to a halt by the miners' strikes. We were without power for days on end.
    You'll have to take up knitting.

  26. Oh – what a terribly difficult time that must have been. We tend to forget that there are people much more affected than we are – really ours was just a simple inconvenience. Your poor mother!! Apparently that is how my parents kept me cool as a baby – I was born in July (winter) but that December they had awful heat waves and they bought 25lb blocks of ice to put around me and blew battery operated fans across the ice. If power loss is common it is very sensible to make the preparations you have!

Leave a Reply

