The last prick….

`
I have given myself the last shot in the stomach!!!  Well, it's not actually into  the stomach, but rather into the subcutaneous fat.  Over the past 12 days I have made little red holes and bruises around my tummy.

When first told that I was going to have to inject myself to prevent blood clots in my leg I was grossed out by the whole idea – funny, if I'd been told to inject someone else  that wouldn't have been a problem at all!

I was given instructions:
* Do not inject within a 2" diameter of the navel – to avoid hitting any large veins (good advice & studiously followed!)
* Clean the chosen area with alcohol (not the drinking kind) and allow the site to dry (it stings if it's not dry – it really does !!)
* Pull up a fold of skin and inject at a 90 degree angle – I was never really sure if they meant 90 degrees relative to the top of my pinch or relative to the side of the pile.  
*Inject alternate sides of the stomach (this gives the other side time to recover from poor needlework)

What I discovered:
My diet is not working & I have more fat on the left hand side of my belly!

So …..  I was quite excited getting ready for the last shot.   Of course, this could have been because I was about to get  my "reward" for sticking with it  – the astro-dweeb man-servant had bought me a box of delicious Godiva – thanks to Queen of Fractal Beauty  for the "hint link"!   🙂
   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

34 responses

  1. ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh! aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! just looking at that picture and I already feel the pounds adding on to me you however are really going to feel the pounds every one you eat, time to commit to an exercise program! Some times it a fine line between sadistic baster and loving person!

  2. Well …. I have had one of the coffee ones and it was divine – I gave away a dark chocolate/chocolate one and he said it was delicious also. It was a great recommendation on your part! 🙂

  3. Hi – everytime I read your blog and how good you are with your needles I wished you were here LOL. I had some pretty extensive surgery on my foot and I have been immobile (and in a cast) for 12 days – the lovenox (good guess) was a preventative measure. Now I can start moving around on crutches – and just in the last day been able to wriggle my toes about again.

  4. Awwww, poor you.. what a lot I have missed in all this busy-ness. I had those injections when I was in hospital – in my thigh and boy do they sting, so you have ny utmost sympathy. Would the manservant not do it for you then?
    Lucky you to get all those choccies too.

  5. Well …. I have had one of the coffee ones and it was divine – I gave away a dark chocolate/chocolate one and he said it was delicious also. It was a great recommendation on your part! 🙂 I'll have to take your word for it on the coffee ones (Ken will get to eat all of those). But if I get a box you can be sure that the dark chocolate and the hazelnut will be all mine! 8:-)

  6. You know when I first saw the title of this I thought you actually found a cure for the common jerk. hahahahaha
    Ouch on the needles but if they help prevent blood clots thats a good thing. Glad it was your last one.

Leave a Reply

