Produce ….

`

Oh dear, my tomato bush has swamped my herb garden!!!   Not long before I will be making relish.


Our pepper plants have been so successful we are giving them away to neighbours. We have jalapenos, hungarian yellow wax peppers, banana peppers, pablanos, serranos & sweet peppers.  We are chopping some every night and putting them on whatever we are eating.   The astro-dweeb says that has to include ice-cream and chocolates.  I did put some with my chocolate the other night – quite yummy.   I don't  eat ice-cream and doubt peppers would induce me!  :-)   These two plants are growing in the pots on the deck railing.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

32 responses

  1. Your plants look lovely! We had our first tomatoes from our own garden for dinner tonight (I made a fresh pasta sauce with them and some zucchini from the farm) – but our plants have all turned brown this year! They're just droopy stalks, but with great-looking tomatoes – but I'm afraid soon the tomatoes will go bad, too… 😦
    Regarding peppers on ice cream… about a month ago, I had a really wonderful tomato-pepper soup at a restaurant in Pittsburgh, and it was garnished with chipotle pepper ice cream – OMG, it was sooo good! The cool ice cream was the perfect way to offset the hot peppers in the soup, which otherwise was almost excruciating (but oh so good – did I mention that?)

  2. I found quite a good recipe for roast tomato and lentil soup which used a kilo of tomatoes each time which made use of a lot of our tomatoes, especially as when it wasn't quite mid summer hot! We only had one tomato plant – but it was completely prolific. Sadly, we didn't get to eat many of our chillies – the possums which terrorise our backyard developed a taste for the spicy and ate them all! We were quite surprised, because the couple we had tried were mega hot.

  3. Oh no! What happened to your plants? We have had a about a dozen tomatoes from this bush – they have ripened every few days so they have been easy to manage – I like them slice with basil (also from my garden) and black pepper. That soup sounds truly delicious!! I read your comment to my husband and his mouth was watering! πŸ™‚

  4. LOL – I am surprised at the possums! All that shrubbery is just one plant too – I think a squirrel might have eaten half a tomato recently – there were little teeth marks in it and I can't think of anything else which might have been in the yard (a rat??). We planted most of our chillies in the front garden (seemed a good idea because they are hardy and it is difficult to water the front). I thought that people might steal them but we haven't noticed any missing! A couple of them are labelled "mucho macho" which might put people off – though they are not as hot as the name suggests.

  5. Salad time there is nothing better then fresh home grown vegetables, and depending on how ambitious you are you can make some great canned creations, although I don't know why they call them canned when they are usually put into a glass sealer bottle! And I hope you and your foot is better today!

  6. Lovely plants! I should just get a job in your garden. I can even volunteer. I bet it will make me feel so much better to be close to plants. We plan to start our own veganic (vegan organic) garden when we move in September. I sure can learn something from you.

  7. I love fresh veggies…. I could quite happily be a vegetarian I think. The tomatoes still warm from the sun are delicious on salads. My sister has given me a recipe for our grandmother's relish so I'm looking forward to some "canning" . I found this information on canning online:
    In 1795 Napoleon offered money to anyone who could find a way to preserve foods for his troops. Nicholas Appert of France found a way to preserve food in jars sterilized and sealed with pitch, and had a vacuum-packing plant by 1804. This process was a military "secret," but by 1810, Peter Durand of England had a patent for tin-plated iron to use in "canning." Canned rations were on the field at the Battle of Waterloo. In 1812, a small plant in New York produced hermetically sealed oysters, meats, fruits and vegetables in cans. Durand introduced his can top America in 1818. Henry Evans patented a machine that made the tin cans, increasing production from 5-6 cans to 50-60 cans per hour. In 1858, American John Mason invented the now famous glass jar for home canning. By the 1860's, the process time had dropped from six hours to 30 minutes, making canned foods commonplace. In the heating process, the sterilization destroys bacteria and enzymes that can cause spoiling, and the seal prevents new air or other organisms from entering.

  8. My father used to grow herbs – he had a really impressive herb garden – we also grew potatoes and broad beans. My grandfather kept us in tomatoes and chokos (and grapefruits). We also grew paddocks of corn a couple of years – but that was a commercial venture. The advantage of living on a farm is there is a lot of land to grow on! I have been thrilled with my little inner city plot!

  9. I'm sure you will love growing your own. The act of gardening is so therapeutic. I have never grown veggies or herbs before so I am thrilled with how well they are going! (and they taste wonderful!).

  10. and people used to actually can foods at home, most people would not have even thought of that just ignored it, but it is a great fact of the past and up till the fifties many people had the stuff to can at home its just easier to make your preserves in jars, tomato butter, salsa, and things like your mothers relish, enjoy the bounty you have got!

  11. Wish you were closer…. we are giving them away by the handsful … though it is hard to find takers for the really hot ones. (we are on the wrong coast). πŸ™‚

  12. Wow, your tomatoes are far more advanced than mine. we've had such a poor spring and start to the summer that even the ones I am growing in alittle greenhouse are slow off the mark.

Leave a Reply

