Self Sufficient

I am proving to be quite self sufficient in herbs, tomatoes and strawberries!   So far I have been able to use lots of my herb leaves in salads and garnishes and I have eaten dozens of strawberries off this one plant!  This is so promising that I intend to expand my selection of herbs and fruits.  I suppose this could end up as a feast in spring & summer and famine in winter  – we shall see.  

The opal basil did not handle all the rain very well.  Hopefully it will bounce back!
   
 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

36 responses

  1. OMG. I'm so impressed with the strawberries in particular. Who woulda thunk to frow them in a hanging basket like that? Are these "second year" strawberries? Cuz I thought they don't produce fruit the first year. I bet you hate picking and eating them because they look so pretty.
    When I was a little kid, my family in Tennessee used to grow acres and acres of strawberries, and it would be about this time of year we would all gather and help them pick the crops. Grandma would give me a basket, send me down a row, and I would eat as many as I picked. I've always been amazed how every strawberry has it's own taste, yet blind-folded you would know what you're eating is a strawberry.

  2. The berries are amazing but everything is looking great!
    I envy you in that your area has a slightly longer, milder growing season than ours–just enough so you can pull of little miracles like these. Of course it was your magic touch! πŸ™‚
    You may also come live at my house! πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow! That looks brillinat Emjay, clever you! Basil is notoriously hard to grow, it's not very hardy at all and I've had loads of plants die on me, so don't worry.
    We had a light frost last night!

  4. Must tell you something amusing. In Australia we call plants in pots, "pot plants" – so every time I say that my pot plants are doing well, it must have people wondering …….. !! πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, so wonderful! Fresh strawberries! And the plant itself is pretty to look at! Don't birds take the berries or land there and eat them?The mint must smell so nice when it's cut! The basil too. Sorry about the purple one……. ((hugs))

  6. I am jealous of your childhood in the strawberry rows! I bought this strawberry pot at Home Depot so I don't know the age and I have to say that I am surprised that it is doing so well. People keep telling me that you should buy plants at nurseries rather than places like Home Depot or supermarkets.

  7. LOL @ my "magic touch"! This is the first time I have ever tried to grow anything edible! My back yard faces the south so they get sun most of the day which must be nice. It is probably going to be too hot in summer though!! I wish I had bought more of the strawberry pots.

  8. Still getting frosts? Wow – you must be wondering where spring is. I read that with basil you have to cut whole bits off not just pull a leaf. It encourages new growths – this afternoon I noticed that it has new shoots where I have cut bits off. I don't think the opal one is going to make it though.

  9. Yes I imagine having all those water restrictions must be tough on gardeners. When my father used to grow herbs we pumped water from the dam when we ran out of rain water. We used to use a lot of grey water on mum's garden – I think my parents were a little ahead of their times on the conservation front. We have had over 10 inches of rain here in the last 2 weeks – I wish we had a rainwater tank!

  10. Ooh! I'm happy to be inspirational! This is the first time ever I have attempted edibles …… I am so enthused by this first effort I am looking forward to getting a rental car in the next few weeks and buying more things. I have ordered a Bay (laurel) tree online – not sure that it will do well here but I am going to put it in a pot so that I can bring it inside when winter arrives. They are only 6" now apparently, and very slow growing so it will be awhile before I have to worry about the pot being too big for indoors!

  11. LOL – I still maintain that my thumb is off-green!! Just bought this strawberry pot about a month ago – I am watering it carefully, it is hanging in the sun and I just keep pulling those sweet fruits off. I am so sorry now that I didn't buy 2 or 3 plants!! What is their normal lifespan?

  12. Actually, my father warned me about birds … he said I might have to put netting over them – but we don't seem to have birds in my neighbourhood! People have warned about squirrels but so far they have left it alone – I think they could probably climb down the chain if they realised how good they tasted – though maybe squirrels don't like strawberries?.

  13. This is really inspiring! Your herbs and shrubs look really really good. We're moving soon and we definitely want to fully utilize the garden to grow some herbs and vegetables. It's so nice to see your own fresh herbs and berries. This is the true bliss of life.

  14. Wow..the plants look amazing ! ( and hopefully the purple basil will recover.) You are inspiring me to go out and get more than the tiny basil that I have..fresh thyme, ooh.And do I spy pretty clay tubs?

  15. Thank you. I feels really great to just run down my steps and pluck these herbs. I'm sure the garden smells nicer too! πŸ™‚ I am going to try blueberries now and maybe even grapes on a trellis.

  16. Thank you! I was thinking of you as I was posting these photos. I am so happy with how they are growing – even if it is not in a claw foot bath-tub!! Yes they are clay tubs – I love them!! I am saving up for a much bigger one now! I ordered 2 little bay trees online too – not sure that these are going to do well here in winter but the site said that they can be brought inside in winter – they are very slow growing so the pot won't be too big to lift for many years. I am lucky to have a southern facing backyard so it gets a lot of sun.

  17. That's funny because I had never had dried ones until I came here! πŸ™‚ We had bay trees when I was growing up and my father grew one in a pot for me to take with me when I left home – it moved house three times, didn't make the trans Pacific journey. Fresh leaves are much better than the dried ones! They are not as spicy as curry leaves.

  18. Sounds like you are doing great and I love to hear all the good stories
    Do you live on a small farm? Is there something on your farm that you never thought of using to make extra income? Well, I am going to give you some ideas on how to take your small farm and monetize it. Here are a few examples of how I make money on my farm. After reading this article, I have no doubt that you will be making extra income from something that you enjoy doing.
    Do you have chickens? Ever thought about selling farm fresh eggs? My neighbors are always putting in an order for farm fresh eggs. I sell an average of 20 dozen per week at $2.25 per dozen! I started out with one customer, and by word of mouth, I now have about 15 weekly customers and that number continues to grow. I now need to increase my laying hens.
    Do you have a small garden? Ever think about selling farm fresh produce? I sell fresh tomatoes, potatoes, cabbage, squash, cucumbers and much more. I do this right from my farm. I have no need to go to the farmers market. Once you build a good reputation with your neighbors, the word gets out and you will have more demand then you can supply. Everyone wants fresh farm products and really do want to support their local farmers. It’s a win-win solution for everyone.
    Do you have a milk cow? Sell fresh farm milk to your neighbors! Or maybe you have plenty of timber for firewood? There are many ways to optimize your small farm and learn how to live a more self sufficient healthy lifestyle at the same time.
    I could keep going, but I think you get the point. All of these hobbies can really add up and everyone benefits.

Leave a Reply

