Getting old…

Got these in an email and thought they were funny enough to share:…

**

Reporters interviewing a 104-year-old woman:
'And what do you think is the best thing about being 104?"  the reporter asked.

She responded:   "No peer pressure".

 

************
I've sure gotten old!
I've had two bypass surgeries, a hip replacement,
new knees, fought prostate cancer and diabetes.
I'm half blind, can't hear anything quieter than a jet engine;
take 40 different medications that make me dizzy, winded and subject to blackouts.

I have bouts with dementia.
Have poor circulation; hardly feel my hands and feet anymore

Can't remember if I'm 85 or 92.
Have lost all my friends.

But, thank God,
I still have my driver's license.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

10 responses

  1. Some times I
    wonder why people send stuff like that what are they hinting at that a person
    isn’t growing old gracefully, un like Raquel Welch who looked great long after
    she was considered old! Although guys look more distinguished when they get
    older what a rip, what a bad hand for any woman who doesn’t have a curvy hard
    body. Although I do love all those old jokes and can’t wait when I am with
    someone younger to tell them with a straight face the punch line after sucking
    them into a story to set it up!

    Those are
    good I will have to pass them on to my mother!

  2. Older people can seem much more capable of laughing at themselves than the young! My grandmother lived to be 99 and she used to complain that all her friends had died (and some of their adult children by then) and left her without a bridge partner!

  3. I think we are all a bit scared of growing old and becoming the people in the jokes. So, we laugh at them to imply that won't be "me" – good heavens no!! Hope your mother enjoyed them!

  4. My grandmother lived to be 99 and she used to complain that all her friends had died (and some of their adult children by then) and left her without a bridge partner! Before my dad got cancer he was complaining that the golf buddies he hadn't already buried were all too old and feeble to play. And he was always cracking jokes about getting old. I'm afraid I've already picked up his habit. I had dinner with my mother and one of my sisters this evening. They were complaining about all the things that get hard as you get older and I had to pipe up with, "Yeah, and what doesn't get harder gets soft." 8:-)

  5. Would be funny if not so true! My grandad still causing mayhem behind the wheel on the streets of Melbourne until he was 96 or so! He was also totally cranky and obnoxious and if anyone ever called him on it, he would assert "I can say what I like. I'm 96!". Thing is he had always been cranky and obnoxious even before he could use old age as an excuse!

Leave a Reply

