Sliding down the stairs …..

I had a slide down the stairs last night.

Well, more accurately, my body went down the stairs while my left hand, arm & shoulder remained securely at the top.

Ouch big time!

If I had had time to think, it would have been better to have released my grip because, if my padded butt had been left alone on its merry way down, nothing would be hurting today.  Of course I might not have actually got down to my padded butt if I had not been so securely anchored to the railing at the top – and then we could all be talking about broken necks today.

The astro-dweeb had the final 5 minutes of his "beloved Lakers" game on tv, rudely interrupted, when suddenly, and very loudly, I appeared, basically horizontally,  in his peripheral vision.  

I am surprised that the shoulder did not dislocate and that my arm was not torn out of its socket!  

It is surprising how painful a gash in the webbing of the hand, between thumb and forefinger, can be; and my wrist and entire forearm is stiff and sore.  

But, the worst hurt is the entire section of pectoral muscle and breastplate right through the chest organs (I wonder if you can have a bruised heart) to the deltoid, the trapezoidal muscle and out through the shoulder blade. In this section I must have pulled every muscle and its myofibrils, every tendon, sinew and other connecting tissues, because it is so bloody sore!  

I had intended taking it easy this weekend anyway to get rid of the last vestiges of jetlag but, even I realise, that this is a rather extreme way of getting out of using that new reel mower!

Proof the stairs survived my best efforts to put a dint in them:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

36 responses

  1. Gosh! Glad you're OK! Sounds like you're in some serious pain though. I hate stairs! Hailey came down ours (hardwood) on her behind the other day because she was rushing to go to school and had on slippery houseshoes. She's fallen down the stairs twice since we lived here and my dog fell down them once too…(weiner dog) she just lost her footing and barrel rolled the rest of the way down. Surprisingly, she was OK. Take it easy and I hope you feel better soon. Warning though, us 'older' folks don't bounce back so quick. I fell 'up' the stairs last summer and slammed my foot on the edge of the stairs and it was swollen and hurt for months and months. It FINALLY got better though. Should have gone to the doc but I didn't.

  2. But, the worst hurt is the entire section of pectoral muscle and
    breastplate right through the chest organs (I wonder if you can have a
    bruised heart) to the deltoid, the trapezoidal muscle and out through
    the shoulder blade. In this section I must have pulled every muscle and
    its myofibrils, every tendon, sinew and other connecting tissues,
    because it is so bloody sore! I think the astro-dweeb is rubbing off on you! Glad your OK other than being sore. I've managed to break both arms and a foot (thankfully not all at the same time). Two of those times I was just walking–once down some front porch steps and once on a perfectly flat sidewalk! It's a wonder I've managed to live in a two story house for nine years now without once falling down the stairs. (Uh-oh. That probably just jinxed it for me.)

  3. Oh my, that sounds frightening, and painful! I'm one of those people who seriously can't help laughing guiltily (word?) at the sight of people falling, but I truly know that it hurts a lot, and I only laugh if they don't get hurt! haha.. But you got hurt, so the thought does not make me laugh. I've fallen both down, and up stairs, and neither is pleasant. Yours sounds like it was quite the slip. Hope it feels better soon!

  4. Ew..that sounds awful!! Is that why you said your side was hurting too much to go see the fireworks? I never knew..How is the bruised heart doing today? Hope you feel better soon.

  5. Oh – your poor little dog! He doesn't have hands to hold on with! I am thinking that given our age … LOL ….. it won't be long before we put non slip treads on the steps! Feel much better today thanks.

  6. Yeah – you don't really have time to think about whether it is best to hold on or let go though ….. I cannot believe how fast it happened. Would have made a very funny home video I'm sure!

  7. LOL. Actually the biology is all mine …… in another life-time I used to work as an instructor in a gym!! Wow! Nine years without falling down! I didn't even make 6 months. I knew it was a mistake moving into a 2 storey house in our twilight years. 🙂

  8. I think that people falling up stairs looks hysterical – and I am just as guilty as you at laughing! Actually, I did laugh at myself once I determined that nothing was broken – mostly because the astro-dweeb accused me (jokingly) of preventing him from watching the Lakers game. Everyone knows that my favourite team is whoever is playing them! 🙂

  9. Thanks! Yes, the muscles feel sorer today but at least it only hurts when I move! Yesterday it just seemed to hurt whenever I breathed – and there's nothing much you can do for that 🙂

  10. Thank you. I managed to break my foot falling down one step about 16 years ago – now I am imagining how many bones I can break on multiple steps! 🙂

  11. No – we didn't go to the fireworks 😦 Everytime I breathed my chest hurt. Today things only hurt when I move that left arm about. Luckily I am right handed. My heart races when I think of what might have happened!! 🙂

  12. You're one of those old people now who should be taking calcium.

    I prefer mature to "older" LOL!
    We're not even "of a certain age" yet are we, Emjay? (and I do mean "we" as we are about a year, two maybe, apart)
    Goodness, I felt pain tinges just reading about this. Goodness sakes! Take it easy, there, girl!
    Heal quickly!

    xxxxx
    Cyn

  13. LOL! Actually I think "mature" sounds old! I call myself old or little old lady in a self-deprecating manner and love that people always respond "oh, you're not old" ….. I will be thoroughly depressed when they stop saying that!

  14. Oh – thanks for inquiring. I am much better – just some residual soreness in that chest section when I move – as though I have been using one of those chest presses or the pec dec at the gym. And the grazes on that thumb webbing still needs a bandaid – but all in all things are good. I appreciate you asking.

  15. Oh, gosh that's OK — I figured it might take a couple of days to go either way– better or worse — and I'm relieved for you that it was better. I've had a couple of tangles with stairways and one of them ruined my ankle for nearly a year(concrete floor at the bottom, and I landed on my ankle, twisted. gah) — even the simplest fall or loss of balance with a near-miss can be painful.

  16. Oh Emmy (((( big gentle hugs))))I hope you are feeling a bit better now. I was wondering if you had an xray to make sure you didn't break any ribs. Poor girl. Hoping for a speedy recovery!

  17. Ouch! Did you manage to glide to an elegant halt, or was it more of a crumpled and cussing heap?
    I can recommend arnica pillules for the muscle strain and bruising.
    Take care and get the OH to look after you.

Leave a Reply

