One Week today …

One week today I fly off home to Australia for one month!!

Total travel time for this trip is about 30 hours – door to door – from the time I leave here, sit in the airport, sit in a plane, sit in another airport, sit in another plane, get through customs & the rental car counter and then drive to my friend's house.

From Washington DC to Los Angeles is 5 or 6 hours. Then it is 14 & a half hours flying across the Pacific where you wonder if you should have paid more attention during the safety demonstration on "water landings".

You know it is going to be a long trip when they welcome you aboard and tell you that "for your enjoyment we have 6 movies to show during this flight".

You know it is already way too long when you eat a meal, watch a movie, have a nap and still have not gone half way!

I have never quite managed to grasp the International Date Line effect ….  I leave on Saturday & arrive on Monday – what happened to Sunday?  Coming back I get to land in LA before I have taken off in Sydney!

I tend to dress for the worst…. all cotton so my clothes don't melt to me in the event of fire, joggers incase I have to sprint away from a burning aircraft and all my valuables at my feet because there is NO way I am leaving my "personal effects" in the case of an evacuation!

It is no wonder then, that my mind conjures up the image of a great big blood clot forming in my leg and insidiously travelling to my lungs and thus ruining my holiday.  United shows a little film of leg lift exercises you can do during the flight to help prevent the likelihood of DVT.  Well….   I am just a smidgen over 5'8" tall and when the person in front puts their seat back my knees are touching it and there is no way in hell I can do any sort of leg exercise except wriggle my toes (which of course are swelling in my joggers!).

Having seen a few studies recently on the success of compression stockings in not only preventing DVT but also alleviating some of the jet lag tiredness I decided to buy a pair.  (BTW,  one of these studies involved people wearing the stockings on one way of their journey and not in the return direction or vice versa and then answering a questionnaire on how they felt as well as having medical tests done on blood pressure and various other tests of their blood flow oxygenation and efficiency).
 
So my thigh high medium compression stockings arrived and today was "test day".  Mmmmmm!  Not so sexy but at least they are in a suntan shade and not surgical white. They have a sort of rubberised top with lace on the showing side – though I have no idea why the manufacturer would put something sexy on these. They are not the sort of stocking that is going to tempt my fellow passenger into a hustling me into the mile high club!

Putting them on was a little bit challenging but then they are supposed to be tight.  The rubber grip is supposed to stop them from falling down but it does not feel nice on the skin and because they are tight there does tend to be a little bit of flesh overflow!!  This overflow is somewhat lessened upon walking when the bands roll over at the top …  I'm not sure they are meant to do that!  LOL .  Once rolled over the rubber tended to stick to the skirt I had on today giving it a weird look which I am sure the fashion designer did not envisage on his creation! 

And so, the all up assessment is:  I doubt that these are going to last on my legs any longer than the time between take off and "you are now free to move about…"

Tomorrow I will start stressing about what to pack ….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

27 responses

  1. Hey, Emjay, hope you have a lovely time back in Oz. Mrs Snowy has a slight varicose vein problem, and she wore those stockings back from Heathrow to Oz. She reckons they made the trip ever so much more comfortable.

  2. Bon Voyage!!!! I am envious of you cos I've never had the chance to go abroad…it's my greatest desire to travel round the world and visit all the museums and see the ancient monuments…..don't know when my wish will come true…but cheers to you! ENJOY!!!!

  3. Yes Asprin is the thing – and those little ankle rotation exercises.
    I take it that you are not a "comfortable" flier? We once took a flight from Australia to the North Island of New Zealand that they showed that movie with Sandra Bullock about a plane crash. Tasteful I thought. I try to read and keep busy. Last time I took a Bill Bryson book and I laughed so much that I think my neighbours though I was on something.

    Are you going to take the Sydney Harbour Ferry for all times sake once you are here?

  4. Yayy for going back home!!!Dressing for worst is the reason I never fly in a skirt..what if I land in a jungle with blood thirsty mosquitoes?You might want to try the mild-medium grade below-knee compression stockings. While still synthetic, there's no rubber band on top and they are not tight enough for a flesh spill-over. If only I could remember the brand name.

  5. Don't worry planes are safe… Concerning thrombosis risk the best thing is to not wear sock and move often in the cabin and also make exercice when sitting. I'am used to flight at least for 20 hours and I apply successfully this rule.

  6. I've done to Chicago to Fiji, Fiji to Sydney, Sydney to Chicago route, with various connections in between, and know exactly how you feel. Make sure to bring plenty of books, sleeping pills or melatonin, and your choice of electronic entertainment.

  7. Thank you Snowy. I am going to persevere with the stockings…… Having now done 8 trips back/forwards without them I might be quite qualified to comment on their success.

  8. OOoh! What lovely sounding weather – though that will feel hot to me for the first few days. I'm sure I can adjust though …… it will be so nice to get out of the winter here.

  9. I have taken aspirin on the day of flying before – it tended to give me indigestion though. I like to get up every few hours and walk about – it's not like I am really interrupting my sleep πŸ™‚

  10. LOL! What an extremely poor choice of movie!! I am a "what if" worrier in general πŸ™‚ – starting with "what if" the taxi doesn't turn up!! Even though I have booked it to take me so early that I would have time enough to ring another one if that happened! LOL. I have my iPod and 3 paperbacks (I am reading the John Rain series).YES! I always go back and do those old things like riding the ferry – they never seem to lose their magic to me. I go back to Dee Why every year too – even though it is very different now.

  11. LMAO – jungle & mozzies!! A skirt would be quick to pull off to enable swimming if it goes down in the ocean though. :-)I have ordered a pair of the knee highs – hope they come in time to compare them. They come from Jobst.

  12. Yeah, my sanity is definitely at risk! I think flying there is easier because I am all excited about going home – flying back this way is harder.I have stayed in some really bad hotels but none of them has been effected by turbulence! πŸ˜‰

  13. I usually take 3 books – if I can't sleep that seems to be the number I can get through. And I have playlists set up on my iPod now – what I would call "lulling" music. I have not tried melatonin but have heard good things about it.

  14. Oooh, lucky you!Have a wonderful time!I will get to Australia someday–though probably after younger son is finished university. It's been a dream of mine for some time now!So you'll be arriving for late summer/early Autumn? Sounds like a perfect time to go. You must take loads of photos of everything! (please?!)Also, between picture taking we would very much appreciate you posting here too, Thanks! πŸ™‚

  15. Enjoy the flight and holiday at home. I tend to walk a bit during long flights and drink gallons of water. Absolutely no grog or too much coffee/tea. Hope you have a spare seat beside you as extra space always helps.

  16. My huisband is a what if worrier – I call it Apocalyptic thinking. He is always imaging the worse possible outcome – he says that it is so he is prepared for all contingencies. I tell him to stop worrying twice. You can do enough when it happens!

  17. Emmy, I had to wear these stockings for 6 weeks after my knee replacement surgery. After I got used to them, I felt naked without them. They really aren't so bad under pants. Also, the best exercise to do to prevent blood clots is ankle pumps: here is a short videoEven us tall girls can do these under the seat discreetly. Last year I flew to Freeport 6 weeks post left TKR and under the surgeons orders, did the pumps and wore the socks and I was fine :))

Leave a Reply

