The scientists & the blonde break bread together…

Imagine a dinner party where the guests are:

An astrophysicist
An astrometrist
An atmospheric chemist
A cosmologist
A geoscientist
A retired professor

And  ……   a blonde!

My father wondered if my "brain would be stretched"!!!  

Perhaps I should be offended by that, but I have always considered myself to be somewhat the "light relief" when in the company of intellectuals.

There were no technical journeys from the core of the earth to extra-solar space so it was actually a very pleasant evening – made especially more so by the fact that the astro-dweeb did all the preparation and cooking (perhaps, in agreement with my father, he was allowing my brain to rest & relax in preparation to being stretched??).

.

   First there was the preparation: 

Then there was the cooking in a wok which belonged to the astro-dweeb's great aunt and has been "seasoned" with Asian cooking for over 40 years.

He very capably prepared Beef with Spicy Black Bean Sauce, Sichuan Dry Fried String Beans, Stir fried Orange chicken and  Sichuan stir fried prawns.

My sole duties for the evening were setting the table and putting the nibbles out:

Our table setting is quite a mix of cultures;  the centre heat mats are from Hawaii, depicting exotic flowers,  the placemats are Australian aboriginal designs, the chopsticks are authentic Chinese – purchased in a street market in Nanjing during our trip there.  (the crystal bowl is from the Czech Republic and was given to me at work full of Lindt chocolate balls!! There are still some left – hiding amongst the shredded tinsel).

The nibbles clockwise from the top:   Dried fish with sesame seeds, mixture of wasabi peas & peanuts, dried sweet ginger and cooked chestnuts. I think the chestnuts are an acquired taste – not one I have!   (although I have enjoyed hot roasted chestnuts)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

19 responses

  1. I've just spent 40 mins. creating a comment only to backspace to the beginning. Since I can't make a good comment, I'll inform you that I've read your post. I found it interesting. Hope you had a good time. Nice pictures! 🙂

  2. Thank you. I was actually thinking of you when I posted that photo of the wok filled with vegetables! It is amazing to think that it is in its 2nd generation of use. I love wasabi! The dried ginger was much hotter.

  3. Thank you James! It really was a great evening. The wines were an eclectic mix – one guest brought a bottle of Spanish red (he is Spanish); and another brought a French red (though he is not French). We had Australian red, Californian red and a New Zealand white.

  4. AD sounds pretty deft in the kitchen… maybe you should hire him out for dinner parties! It's great to have the chance to experience living in different cultures and mixing around with people all over the world. It is a blessing and joy. Aahh, the joys of an expat life.

Leave a Reply

