Anzac Bridge

One of my favourite bridges is the Anzac Bridge in Sydney, Australia.  It is the longest cable-stayed bridge in Australia – it is 32.3 metres wide (105.6ft) and the main span is 345 metres long (1131.9'). 

The bridge was completed in 1996 to replace the Glebe Island Bridge which had been in operation since 1901 as an electrically operated swing bridge.

When it opened in 1996 it had seven lanes and came under criticism as being "over-engineered".   This proved unfounded as the bridge was reconfigured to eight traffic lanes in 2005!

The bridge was given its name on Remembrance Day 1998 to honour the memory of the Anzac soldiers (Australian & New Zealand Army Corps) who served in WW1.   The Australian flag flies on top of the eastern pylon and the New Zealand flag atop the western pylon.

In previous visits home I have stayed with a friend in the Eastern Suburbs and travelled over this bridge every day to visit my children.  On one such crossing I was overcome with a sudden (and dangerous) impulse to take a photo of the bridge as I was driving across it at 80 kph (50mph).  Even if you are not impressed with the photos it is amazing that I managed to take them without going out of my lane, hitting another car or being fined for neg driving! πŸ™‚

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 responses

  1. Yeah – it was one of those things that seemed a good idea at the time and only stupid later! One reason you should always have a passenger – incase there is a photo op! πŸ™‚

  2. You are nutty but you have an excellent eye!
    And here I thought we only had to fear cellphone drivers!
    Kidding. I've made a few "upon reflection maybe not so smart" moves, too!
    Hey, getting a great photo is worth taking a bit of risk, LOL.

  3. I love the lines of the cables on bridges. It is a pity that we don't get to walk them often – except for the footbridge on the side which rarely gives the same angle as you get driving across.

  4. it is a cool bridge. I used to drive over it once a week when I was living in Sydney and James, my partner was still in Canberra. always loved it. I think it is better than the Harbour bridge personally.

Leave a Reply

